A family's story

Something New

So last week I took a step out of my comfort zone and tried a cardio kickboxing class with a fellow mom from my boys’ school. It was a small group at a tae kwon do center, and I liked the work out. Everyone was friendly and no one said anything about my jiggly middle and offbeat moves. It took me a couple of weeks to get comfortable with the idea, but I’m glad I made the change.

Today I returned for another class. This week was a little more intense, but I enjoyed it again. It’s good to step out and try new things. I need to remind myself to do that more often.

I often talk about my boys and their rigidity, but I am a creature of habit, myself. I like sticking to what I know versus trying or attempting something that I may not be familiar with. Know that feeling?

I know I drive my husband crazy with my hemming and hawing…and my resistance to change. Case in point??? Our dryer decided to bid us adieu this past weekend. I opened it so that I could leave the house and the motor decided to not work so much anymore. Waaah! I know it’s a 12 year old more basic model dryer, but still….couldn’t it hold on a while longer?!

We started to look at new appliances. Hubz isn’t sure that he can fix the problem sufficiently. In our search, we noticed that all of the fancy washer and dryers that we prefer won’t fit in our laundry space. See,  our house has a small laundry room off of the garage entry. It *should* have been made bigger and been a dual purpose mudroom/laundry room, but that isn’t the way it was set up. The house was built in 1988. Appliances were smaller back then. Soo0…that means we will have to move our laundry area to the basement if we want the cool see-through top loader and dryer–which we DO want because (a) it has larger capacity, (b) it’s more efficient and (c) Tate absolutely LOVES washers and dryers. We’ll have to get someone in to do the electric and water and gas hook ups. Hubz wants to put in a utility sink. BUT this means I have to go up and down TWO LEVELS to do our laundry. I know me. I know our kids. I’m afraid that our laundry will end up lying around in the basement getting musty and stinky.

I also am overwhelmed at the idea of having to convert the laundry area into a mud room. It should be easy enough, but it is full of stuff. We have way too much stuff around here. Most of the items in that laundry room should probably be donated or thrown out. And it definitely needs to be painted. And do we put in a bench or just a couple of chairs? Do we install a few cabinets or do shelving? What color should we paint it? While we are in there, should we clean out the mini-closet that is full of MORE STUFF?! (Yes, yes we should.)

But it’s all change. It’s all different. It’s all going to change our routine and the way I handle laundry. It really makes my heart race thinking about it.

Hubz is going to try to install a new motor in the dryer this weekend to give us a little time. Give ME a little time to visualize and get comfortable with a new set-up, new appliances, new look.  Change is good, right?!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

