A family's story

Status

Oh, December. How is it almost the end of 2015..and the beginning of 2016?! As much as I want to stop time and savor certain moments, it keeps ticking forward. Pesky thing, time.

I’m going to be turning 40 soon. That seems odd. 40 used to seem so old. So wise. And I don’t really feel either of those things. I mean, I definitely have a few more aches in my knees and several more gray hairs than I used to have, but my mind and my spirits are what they always were. I definitely don’t feel any more wise, either. Huh.

The boys keep on truckin’. We are skating through the 6th grade, 4th grade and 1st grade. Each of the kiddos did well academically in the first grading period. Each has had his bumps. Each is resilient and moving forward.

The house is decorated for Christmas. Tree and lights are up. My village is up, various little accent decorations pepper our living areas. The stockings are hung by the chimney with care…all that jazz. This year, Tate has been really into our elf, Alfie. He looks for him every morning and find his shenanigans amusing. Last year he was curious about the elf, so it’s a lot of fun to watch him get into it this year!

Something not so fun is the bickering over our Lego Advent Calendar. A few years back, Alfie started to bring our family a Lego Advent Calendar on December 1st. The first 2 years, Cole was the only one who really seemed to care. Last year Jake got into it more. This year, all 3 boys want some of that action. Cole is struggling to share the Legos. It’s good for him to share, but he isn’t liking it. He has awaken a bit too early some mornings to make sure he has a fair shake at that calendar. We have an established schedule right now, so I hope it works. I’d hate to stop that tradition next year because they can’t handle it.

Is my Jake the only 6th grade boy clinging to the belief that Santa is real? He hasn’t outright asked, and he likes to believe in magic and mystery. My guess is that he’s heard his peers at school talk about parents giving gifts and keeping the hope alive..but he hasn’t said anything..and if he isn’t going to say anything, I’m certainly not going to say anything. I’m happy to have him playing along to keep the magic alive for a while longer for the other two. Of course, Cole has already started asking a few of the more pointed questions. My guess is that he’ll figure it out next year.

Hope everyone out there is doing well. We continue to plug along. Welp, I’m off to get a few more shopping items crossed off of my list. Happy Holidays to all!!

Comments on: "Status" (2)

  1. My 6th grader still believes!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

