A family's story

Bumbling Through

We’re still keeping on keeping on here. It’s been almost 2 and a half months since I last blogged. I’ve been working on being healthy, working on being informed about my kids and their needs, and working on keeping my house from being an episode of Hoarders. (I’m not winning that last battle so much, but I am working to chip away at all of our accumulated crap, so that’s a plus.)

All three of our boys are doing fairly well. We have progress, we have frustrations, we have successes and misses. But we are moving forward through this school year, and thankfully, for the most part, we are coming through relatively unscathed.

Jake is powering through 5th grade. All of our end of elementary school activities are starting to occur. I’m not sure if I’m ready for my child to be in middle school. I worry about this next step a lot. Is he going to be able to handle it academically? Socially? Emotionally? He’s quirky and awesome, but will kids see him that way? He started Boy Scouts last month. So far, he enjoys it. But he’s so small compared to some of the other boys. I just want him to be happy and to stay afloat…I hope we don’t lose momentum going into middle school.

Tate is hanging in there. We’ve seen some great progress. We are coping with some behaviors. I wish I knew the way to handle some of the hard stuff better. I want him to be happy. I want him to be him. I wish that certain things were easier for him, and I wish that he was less frustrated by social interactions and expectations. I wish he had a few friends. Maybe some day he will. Right now he has “friends”, but no real true friend. Makes my momma heart heavy. On the other hand, he is reading and comprehending better. He is impulsive, but with certain activities, he is slowing down and we see such gains.

Cole is coming into his own as he works through kindergarten. For a child whom struggled with letter recognition in August, he is leaps and bounds ahead of where he was. He is reading, writing, doing math, and is so intuitive. He amazes me every day with his ability to comprehend and predict and learn. He is also a social butterfly. He cares about his friends and he is often the center of a group of kids. He’s enjoying school.

The boys are getting along relatively well, and they truly have a brotherly love. It isn’t what some would say is typical, but I absolutely love being privy to their interactions and support of each other. If anything, I know that my boys have each others’ backs, and that is a marvelous thing…to be able to have comfort in knowing that family is always there for you.

I know this is a ramble and a jumble. I just have a lot on my mind, and I knew I’d feel better coming over here to get some of it out. I do.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

