A family's story

Happy New Year 2015

2015. Wow. How is it 2015?! Wasn’t it just 2009???

We rang in the New Year at 11:00 last night….hey, at least it was midnight on the East Coast!!!  Hubz and I enjoyed spending the night with the boys, eating appetizers and watching How To Train Your Dragon 2. The quiet and comfort of our own home was much needed as we start to wind down this winter break.

Speaking of break, we have managed to make it through most of winter break here in the House of Hope without too much melting down. The bickering and annoyances have been minimal, too…although, today they were high. I just kept telling myself, “Only 3 more days”!!!

I spent the time I used to fold laundry today contemplating this year’s resolutions. I’m a resolution or goal kinda gal. I may not keep them all, but I do try to change a few bad habits or begin some better ones. I always have the perennial quest to lose weight and get healthy. This year is no different. I have a list of resolutions…goals, if you will. My most important resolution this year is to find my happy. It’s not that I’m UN-happy, but I think I tend to get wrapped up in minutea and get stuck in my loops of people pleasing. That’s fine, but I need to make sure that I am happy and satisfied…if I can ensure that, then I think some of the angst I have been feeling will slip away.

A few of my other resolutions include:

-regular exercise

-better food choices/more balanced diet (I love vegetables and fruit…I need to remember to make those a part of every meal!)

-becoming more comfortable and familiar with the new Macbook Pro I got for Christmas

-taking more pictures of my family that include me and Hubz

-putting away the electronic distractions and having unplugged meals and family time

-writing more

-reading more

-trying to understand life from my boys’ perspectives rather than just relying on my own, when trying to give them tools for navigating the world

So, that’s my start for 2015. Hope you all had a marvelous holiday season and are ready for this new year, the new experiences, the new opportunities.

Comments on: "Happy New Year 2015" (3)

  1. Happy New Year! I may or may not have any resolutions – I seem to keep forgetting to resolve to do them! 😉

  2. I think these are great resolutions! I love the finding your happy one. Happy new year!

  3. I really and truly hope that you and your guys have a wonderful year with minimal stress/angst/drama/worry/melting down/bickering/ etc etc etc. Be happy my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

