A family's story

A Fresh Start

Today we started the 2014-15 school year. We packed the bags and laid out the clothes last night. Lunches were packed, and shoes set by the front door. We were ready for this new adventure. I think. I hope.

 

This year marks a milestone at the House of Hope. All three children are in elementary school. All three are in full-day school. And I will have time to myself. I think this will be good for all of us. I hope it will be.

Five years ago this day seemed as if it would never come. I remember the parents of older students, I nervously watched them navigate the throngs of kids and fellow parents with relative ease and aplomb. They were seemingly confident and went with the flow. I couldn’t imagine ever being one of them. And here I am…I methodically dropped off each of the boys this morning. I left Hubz in charge of Cole in his kindergarten line. I walked Jake over to the fifth grade section, and wished him well, gave him a hug and a kiss, and walked away knowing he was comfortable chatting with one of the boys from Cub Scouts. I walked Tate over to the side of the building where he will typically disembark from the bus. Unlike last year where he ran away and refused to join his class, he ran right up and started interacting with his classmates. I think this is a good start. I hope it is a good start.

Part of me thinks of this as an end of an era. I have no kids home with me during the day. No more naps. No more diapers. No more entertaining a child and coming up with ways to keep a child entertained for 10 minutes so I can just sit and gather my thoughts. I don’t have to potty-train anyone else, or finagle a nap into the schedule. I don’t have to rush off to preschool pick up or manage doctor appointments with a toddler. It’s going to be weird. And quiet. Oh, the quiet. I think it will be a good change. I hope it will be a good change.

The other part of me is looking at this as a fresh start. I can run errands more at my leisure. I can volunteer at the school during the day. I can have coffee and lunch with my fellow moms. I can write. I can attend an exercise class (ha ha). I can gather a little more of myself that I think was a little lost, a little forgotten, and treat her like she should be treated. I think I’ll like having some time to myself. I hope I will like having time to myself.

So, today marks an end of an era, a fresh start. Jake is a fifth grader. He’s one of the oldest kids at the school, and he loves that he has so many friends in his class. He is looking forward to his last year of elementary school. Tate is a third grader. He is excited about being reunited with his favorite aide, his friends, and his routine. Cole is thrilled to finally be a student at his brothers’ school. He’s tagged along to so many activities there, that he’s felt like he should be there for some time now. And now he can call it HIS school, too. I think we’re going to have a fantastic year. I hope we will, too!!

IMG_2892

Tate, Jake and Cole ready for a new school year!

IMG_2893

Our rag-tag bunch

IMG_2899

Oh, look! We can see all of their great smiles!

IMG_2928

Ready to get this party started!!! (I do wish Cole wasn’t carrying a Nerf gun around. Makes us look a little, um, unsavory.)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

