A family's story

10 More Days

We have 10 days until the boys are back in school. Ten. More. Days. I’m barely holding on. I will not lie. I am honestly practicing my cartwheel for that first day of school. (Aaaad, I’ve just become my mother…)

Part of me wishes that I could be like the moms I see on Facebook who are lamenting the fact that school starts soon. They’re going to miss all of the fun and exciting adventures, the laid back mornings, the spontaneous fun. They love having their kids together under the same roof and going on vacation and road trips and amusement parks. The thing is, here, we just don’t have much of that.

We may have a few fun and exciting adventures, but those are not very spontaneous. We talk about them. We ready selves for them, and we make sure that we always have a Plan B.

Laid back mornings aren’t really a “thing” here, either. Now, the boys can lounge in their pj’s until 8:30, which is nice, but by 9 am, most mornings, Tate has his first session of ABA. The other two need to be dressed because we have therapists in the house. They need to eat and get their vitamins and their medications. They may get an extra tv show or two, but the morning isn’t necessarily laid back.

For my routine-craving boys, the predictability and familiarity of the school year schedule calls. They can’t wait to know that every Monday brings art and music. That every Tuesday brings P.E. and OT. And so on and so forth.

Vacation didn’t happen this year. It just…didn’t. I mean, we took a long weekend over the 4th of July to Hubz’s parents’ place that is not going to be their place much longer. But we didn’t go anywhere for an extended period of time. We didn’t visit a different state, or go to a water park, or swim in the ocean, or see the world’s largest ball of twine. With summer school and therapy and the risk of upsetting the precarious balance that life has for us right now, a vacation just didn’t make it into the picture. Hopefully next year.

Bickering is at an all-time high. No one can seem to get along any more. They are finding fault with everything. “He’s watching Scooby Doo with me.” “He took all of the green Legos.” “He is playing with the piece of chalk that I need for my picture.” “He walked into the family room.” It is enough to make me want to put on the noise-cancelling headphones and lock myself in the bathroom. Not that I’ve planned my escape or anything.

In any regard, we are trying to enjoy our last 10 days together before we embark on the new journey that 5th and 3rd grades and kindergarten will bring. However, I think all of us will be breathing a little easier once they are all inside the doors of their elementary school come 8:35 a.m. on August 25th!!!!

Comments on: "10 More Days" (2)

  1. Just a little bit longer 🙂
    I’m smack in the middle of loving the summer and wanting it to last forever and being ready to get them back in school. Both have their own sets of challenges and joys.
    Oh the bickering … I know it WELL. It’s maddening!!!

    • I am glad that they can bicker with each other….but, OY!!! Thanks for understanding! Enjoy the rest of your summer!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

