A family's story

Go Big or Go….crazy?!

Cole’s 5th birthday is on Saturday. Since December 26th, he has been talking about when he turns five on June twenty-eighth. He wanted to have a party. A Lego-Dude party. A Lego-Dude party with all of his people. 

As I planned the invites, I wondered if I needed to prune the invite list. He wanted his class to come. There were 11 other children in his class. He wanted the neighbor children he plays with to be there, too. Of course, he wanted his cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents, etc. Considering that this is the last year we would be able to do a family/friend party, we figured why the heck not. Throwing caution to the wind, I invited them all…figuring that with it being the end of June, less than a week before the 4th of July, we’d have low turn out. I wanted Cole to have a great 5th birthday. We celebrated in style for both of his brothers’ 5th birthdays, so I didn’t want him to have anything less.

Less couldn’t be a more incorrect word. This party has exploded into ridiculousness. It is going to be epic. I just pray that it will be epic in terms of “proportions” and not in terms of “fail”. We have only received two definitive “no” replies. Two. Oh, my dear God, I am going to have 40+ people at my house on Saturday. I should be cleaning, shopping, prepping, etc. Instead?? I think I’m going to spend today in the corner in the fetal position.

As I sit in my fetal position, I am planning on doing every anti-rain dance I can think of, paying homage to mother nature and all of her glory, sending prayers to God up above, and whatever else comes to mind to keep the weather decent enough to have this party outside. As of today, the extended forecast calls for upper 80’s, high humidity, and the possibility of thunderstorms. Seriously, hold me.

The upside is that this is not my first rodeo. I have planned parties. I have run room parties. I have hatched a plan…. I’ll have enough parents and older kids around to help me do a “station” party. We will have a Lego-tower-building station, a design your goody bag station, and a water balloon toss station. Tate’s buddy from special needs soccer has his black belt in Tae-Kwon-Do, and has offered to come show the kids how to break boards. He is great with kids…and the price is right–free. (Well, I’ll tip him very well, that’s for sure…)We’ll wrangle the cats, erm, kids, let them channel their inner-Ninjago’s, and have some fun. Finally, we’ll have an old-school whack-it-with-a-big-stick pinata filled with peanut/tree-nut free candy. This can work, right? Right?! Lie to me, if you must….

We’ll end the day with cake, ice cream and juice and each kid will get some pinata candy and a lego-mini-fig head pop to take home. (I’m sure I’ll end up on the Pinterest Fail blog with the marshmallow mini-fig head pops I’m going to try to whip up.)

I’ll post this week with updates. In the meantime, send good ju-ju, prayers, thoughts, our way. And if you’re in our neck of the woods, stop on by…at this point, the more the merrier!!! 

P.S. We also have a quite spot picked out for Tate where he can retreat to get away from the chaos and noise. My brother-in-law, Uncle J, is amazing with Tate, and I know he will be more than happy to help me out when it all becomes too much. Oh, and I have a quiet room planned for any other kiddos who just can’t do the party any more. You may find me there by the time it is all said and done…

Comments on: "Go Big or Go….crazy?!" (2)

  1. I’m sad that I’m missing all this fun … 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how it goes. Definitely sending you good juju. All the way from NJ.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

