A family's story

Yesterday winter came back with a vengeance. We had snow. SNOW. I know it’s April. I know we live in the Midwest. However, after a weekend in which we got to experience our first day above 70 degrees since early October, it seemed like such a travesty that we had to suffer through SNOW again. *sigh*

As it snowed, quite steadily, throughout the late afternoon and evening, Tate let us know his feelings about said weather. “Aw, Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches”. He said this numerous times. He also said that the weather was “ridiculous”. He was NOT happy. I think it was mostly because he wants to go outside and play with our hose and water…and, well, when it’s 31 degrees and snowing, that’s just NOT going to happen. He demands that spring return.

This morning I had to scrape my van. For the duration of winter, I had been parking the van in the garage, because in November my van doors froze shut for a day. After a hailstorm this weekend that dinged up Hubz’s car, I am parking my beat-up mom-mobile out there. The downside to parking outside in a freak snow shower? My electrical sliding doors were frozen shut–again. To quote Tate, “Aw, Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches”. Ugh. Luckily, the sun was shining this morning and the passenger side of my van was thawed enough that we could get into the van via those doors. Doubly lucky, those are the doors that the kids use to exit the car in the carpool line at school. I didn’t have enough energy this morning to be “that” mom….

It’s funny how the things our kids say become part of our family lexicon. Lately, when I get frustrated or peeved, I find myself uttering, “Aw, Peanut Butter and Jelly!”. I guess that is better than “dammit” or “S#!%” or the big ‘ol F— word. Clearly, in his social groups at school he is being taught substitute phrases for expletives. I’ll take it…and it sounds a whole lot better when it becomes echolalic . A second grader muttering “peanut butter and jelly sandwiches” over and over again is much more appealing, and a lot less attention getting than, “Oh, s#!%!”.

Comments on: "Aw, Peanut Butter and Jelly" (1)

  1. There’s a reason I moved to California from Washington state! Snow in April was not unusual there either. Sorry for the setback in weather but Nate is making progress and that’s what counts right? Now, I must go and make a sandwich. I’m hungry. 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

