A family's story

I have been helping my neighbor by watching her two kids in the mornings before school. Their childcare situation fell apart, and I don’t mind watching the kids for a half hour before school. It will be nice once the weather gets a bit warmer and we can spend more of the time outside than inside…but we have been doing well since January.

Today, the kiddos had gotten out the door, and I was putting my coat and gloves on so that I could join them. My neighbor’s son was having a hard time getting ready. He seemed very disorganized. I helped him get his stuff together. As he paced back and forth in the hallway while I fixed his coat sleeves, which he always seems to flip inside out and upside down, he stopped in front of our “mud room” door and looked at the artwork. He asked about a piece that Cole had done at preschool. It was a bear, and on the bear, Cole’s teacher had printed out his name. Cole then had to write it himself on the following three lines. Cole, for all of his fine motor prowess, just does not have any use for writing. It’s been a battle for the past two years. Thankfully, we are starting to see an end to the battle, as Cole is starting to write his name much better. It is very clear on the paper whose name it is.

“Whose is that?”, he asked me.

“It’s Cole’s. See, his name is printed on there and then he had to write it three times.”

“Oh, was it like a test?”, he wondered aloud.

“No. It was a worksheet. In preschool, most kids are still working on learning to write their names.”

“That’s easy…writing your name. I can do that no problem”, he stated proudly.

“Of course you can! You’re a first grader.”

“Yeah. But there might be first graders who can’t write their names. Like, we had a kid in my class who didn’t know how to do it.”

“Really?”, I asked. “I hope that he or she can do it now.” I handed him his coat, and waited as he zipped it up. (I’m mean and make sure everyone is fully bundled!!)

“Oh, yeah. But, like, I bet autistic first graders can’t write their names. Like Tate, right?”

“Um, no. Maybe some autistic children cannot write their names, but Tate learned how to write his name in preschool. He still has to practice, but he can do it.”

“Oh. I thought maybe he couldn’t. So, how did Tate get autistic?”

“He was born that way. It’s the way his brain works. Kind of like how he has brown hair. It’s just the way it is.”

He looked at me, quizzically, “You know, my dad…my dad said that sometimes when you get older and you have autism, you can get cured of it.”

“Well, no…You can’t cure autism. It’s the way a brain works. Tate will always be autistic. However, as an autistic person gets older, they often have ways to cope with the things that they find hard, and they are often able to do many things that everyone else does. Or they learn what works for them, and they stick with that. They try to find what makes them happy.”

“Oh. I see.”

“Cool. Do you have any more questions?”

“No. I’m ready to go out.”

And with that, we were on with our day. Sometimes I still struggle with these types of questions from children. How much do I say? What do I say? Hopefully by having these little conversations, and having interaction with Tate, our neighbor’s kids will see that he’s different, but not less. He follows his own path, but it’s not “the wrong” path…just his path. And I hope that with the awareness comes the acceptance that as long as people are happy, who cares how they get there.

Comments on: "Spreading a little awareness" (2)

  1. I really loved this and I think you did an awesome job of explaining. I got caught off guard by a kid asking questions once right in the middle of one of Jays meltdowns. I don’t think I did a great job but it sure made me put some thought into what I would do/say differently/better next time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

