A family's story

Frustrated

I have had little time for my blog lately. Because it is, in many ways, my therapy, I feel a little off-kilter and discombobulated with my infrequent postings. This is my way to get everything that can be “bottled up” out and off of my mind, and without regular posting, various events and situations have been stuck in my mind, and perseverating on them is not doing any of us any good. Gaah!

I volunteer at the kids’ schools. I am a room parent, I help out with PTO events, and I am a committee chairperson for the school’s Red Ribbon Week. I will be teaching religious education for Jake’s class again this year. Every single one of these commitments has required my time at a meeting this week. It has been worse than having a full-time job!! I have been running around town to various locations, have received numerous handouts, and have had to email several people to get things in place for the new school year. 

Additionally, Cole is in school five days a week for 2 and a half hours. I enjoy the little break, but in many ways, I’m paying for it in spades. He isn’t napping anymore, even though he really, probably could use one most days. He’s feisty when he’s tired. He is more opinionated. (I swear, he’s a teenager in disguise…the tone he uses..yeesh!) Also? He wants to be by me every.single.cotton-picking-frickin-minute. He has to sit by me as I type. If I am in the laundry room, he’s right there behind me. He is even camping out by the bathroom door again, like he did when he was little. To top it off, he’s 4, so I am asked about eleventy billion questions when we are together. I can’t finish a sentence or a complete thought. I have had to retype this post about 4 times already because he has interrupted me to ask questions about:

-his t-shirt (he got a teeny-tiny spot of water on it..and needed a new one)

-his Happy Meal Power Ranger Toys (which one is my favorite? Which one will he get next? Does he have to share with his brothers?)

-a mark on his finger (it is marker from preschool)

-a spot on his spoon (water spot from the dishwasher)

-watching a tv show

-getting an app started on the ipad

– the song “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes” (Do I know it? the answer: yes, yes I do.)

When he pipes up with “Mom?!” I want to cringe. I shouldn’t, but yet, I just.want.to.finish.a.task/post/thought. One day I will miss this (or so I’m told), so I am trying to be present…but good golly!!

I haven’t had a chance to write at night, either, as I am helping with homework, getting dinner ready, shuffling someone to therapy, dealing with chores that have been avoided, packing lunches for the next day and, well, you get the drift here. You know what I’m saying.

And, as the icing on my annoyance sundae, Tate requires a parent to be in his room in order for him to fall asleep right now. If Hubz or I don’t sit in there, he roams around, scripting very loudly, keeping both of his brothers up past their bedtimes. It is so not awesome. It is awful. The past two nights I wasn’t able to come back downstairs until almost 9 pm. So, I haven’t had a lot of alone time. I haven’t had much accomplished, and I have been trying to meet all of the demands of three boys. I’m losing it.

Something has to give, and since I’m really trying to commit to living a more healthy lifestyle (ie: I am following WW Online and exercising regularly), the blog is getting omitted. Hopefully next week I will have more time.

So, I’m just a bit frustrated right now…I know this, too, shall pass…but today I feel very anxious and frustrated. And it helps to get it “out there”.

Comments on: "Frustrated" (6)

  1. Oh I feel your pain! The times I have had to work from home during the past two years (when B’s schools were closed) were quite difficult – there were constant interruptions with the oddest requests.

    {HUGS}

  2. You def do have a lot on your plate right now. Maybe you will get into an easy groove soon and it will all gel nicely or maybe you need to think about taking one of those things off the plate. [Not the blogging :-)]
    I should feel terribly guilty about this but I just don’t – I did not sign Ace up for Boy Scouts this year. He loved it last year and I was all set to sign him up again but it was just one more thing that would require ME to do something so I didn’t. We just can’t be all that we want to be and be everywhere that we want to be and do everything that we want to do all the time.
    Hang in there!

  3. This is me right now too. I haven’t written since July. Not because I don’t have forty blog posts floating in my head but no time to write out a complete thought. We’ll get our groove and our free therapy back.

  4. I have been where you are, and, yes, it does “pass”, BUT there is another “interesting” phase waiting right around the corner. Just know that we “moms, dads, caregivers” hear you loud and clear.

  5. 1createblogs said:

    Great Post!

  6. I’ve had to cut way back on the blog too — I totally feel for you on this one (especially the sitting in the bedroom waiting for an overtired child to fall asleep part — that REALLY SUCKS).

    I know you’re doing all the volunteer work in order to be around your kids, but maybe there is something you can let go? And yes, yes… I know — I am the pot asking the kettle on this one because I chronically volunteer. I’ve been restricting myself from going to PTA meetings so that I *don’t* volunteer for anything more, LOL.

    Hang in there, and hugs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

