A family's story

Not alone

I know I am late in writing about the events that transpired around Issy Stapleton. Like another blogger posted, I have a lot of thoughts going around in my mind, and sometimes it’s hard to get them all sorted out and written down in a coherent manner. Also, I have three children who require a lot of my time and attention, so finding time to sit and write has been difficult.

Like so many other people who are in the autism blogging world, when I started to see Issy’s tragedy pop up in my Facebook newsfeed, I felt sick. I felt angered. I couldn’t believe that a mom could do…THAT. A mom whose blog I had read multiple times. A mom who I thought was so strong. A mom who seemed to want nothing but the best chance for her autistic daughter..and who fought tooth and nail for her daughter and services. Who, like so many of the rest of us, hit roadblocks and frustrations, but who persevered and tried to find another way. And then…and then…

It is devastating to think that anyone would think that murder is the only answer. Our kiddos, especially our special needs kiddos, trust us. They depend on us. To breach that trust and dependence by attempting to take their lives? It’s unconscionable. Murder is wrong. Period.

If you’re struggling with your kiddos needs and behaviors and the dang schools and the system and insurance…and you are feeling like you’re in the rabbit hole of despair…start clawing out. Please. Don’t give up. Don’t ever believe the dark whispers of depression. Depression lies. It isn’t totally hopeless. There is ALWAYS another way. You are NOT alone. Someone can help you…someone will have another idea. Another way.

Since I started blogging in late 2011, I have found SO MANY other parents (mostly on the Interwebz) who can sympathize with what I live on a day to day basis. None of us has exactly the same path…but ours are similar enough that I know that when I need it, I can rely on any one of them for support. Any one. They may not know all of my intimate details, but I can guarantee that they really don’t care. If they know that I’m struggling…they will stop to help me. I will do the same. You can always, ALWAYS, leave me a message or go to my Facebook page. I will be there for you.

No one else knows what we can do when we put our collective voices together. We need to start working together to make sure that we do not keep reading about tragedies like Issy’s again. Because one is just too many. Who’s in this with me???

Comments on: "Not alone" (1)

  1. Auntysocial said:

    Really quite surprised at the negativity and anger towards this girl’s mother because even though I don’t condone what she did for a moment, I really empathised with her sense of utter deflation and total loss and could well imagine how that one last thing just tipped her over the edge.

    Talking to someone about your feelings when you’ve been doing that for over a decade and to anyone and everyone that will listen only helps to a point. When you’re fighting a losing battle with every health, medical and education psychologist you cross paths with and hitting brick walls on a daily basis, talking about it all again after and knowing it’ll still leave you, your autistic child and other family members in the same place is even more exhausting.

    God yes, if anyone feels they’re at a point where something like this could seem like the only option – do something. My worry is that every day, a staggering number of people have tried doing something – failed and still continue to be overlooked and failed miserably by the very people that should be helping them. 😦

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

