A family's story

All three of my boys started school today. A part of me cannot believe that they are in 4th grade, 2nd grade, and 4-year-old preschool! However, I was so incredibly grateful that they went back to the school routine today. I am going to admit something…I’m not one of those stay-at-home-moms who is beside herself when her kids are off at school. I relish my 2 and a half hours of alone time. When I came home after dropping my boys off, I felt refreshed, I felt renewed, I felt…peaceful. No tears…no heavy heart…no wishing the moments away until they are back home.

Honestly, I was not only excited for me, but for them, as well. A new school year is a new adventure…and a clean slate. All of the junk from the year before is the past…and they can move forward with hope and joy.

Jake is in fourth grade now. I loved fourth grade. I remember my teacher very well. Sister Adria. She was pretty old school and no nonsense. She had a sign in our room, “I am responsible for my actions at all times.” I will never forget that. She really tried to instill a sense of personal responsibility in all of us…that and perfect penmanship, but that was lost on me. The responsibility thing, though, that stuck. Also, we did a Christmas play that year, and I had my first experience on Student Council. I turned 10 years old…and had sleepover parties several weekends throughout the year. It was a year of growth and independence. I loved so much of it! (It was also the year of a bad haircut….but we’ll save that story for another day…)

Tate is a second grader!!! I cannot believe how much older he seems lately…and how much progress he made this summer. He is trying to engage peers. He is advocating for himself more. He is interested in so much more around him than he has been in the past. And he is quite a little jokester! He has a great team at school, and a new team at home for ABA. His prospects look great for a fantastic year!

And Cole. Cole is my precocious little preschooler. How we have gotten to the 4-year-old preschool mark I will never know. I swear I was just bringing him home from the hospital, and here we are…getting him settled into a five-day-a-week preschool program. One of the staff told me that he did great today–jumped right in and played with new kiddos and engaged the teacher in a discussion about his new Transformer toy. I loved hearing about his day, in his words, during our 5 minute ride home. He was full of stories about his first day. When I told him he is going again tomorrow, I got that oh-so-adorable preschooler “yayyyy!” with a clap.

I know it won’t be fantastic all of the time. I know that some bumps and bruises lie ahead…but all the same, I am looking forward to this year for my kids!

Now’s the part of the post where I bore you with back-to-school photos. I’m sure you’ll be groaning as much as my boys were this morning.

IMG_1511

I am…Cole-ja-go, Preschool Ninja Warrior!

IMG_1520

4th, 2nd, and 4-y.o. preschool here we come!

IMG_1532

Let’s try separating them a bit for a better pic–um, well, maybe.

IMG_1541

Cole & Jake share a moment as Tate hams for the camera

IMG_1554

No worries, Jake. I got your back.

IMG_1565

Preschool rocks!

IMG_1571

Not so sure about this 4th grade stuff….

IMG_1573

Second grade?! I got this!

IMG_1574

My boysies and me

IMG_1595

And with Hubz…can we be done yet?

IMG_1601

And this is the look one gets when asking her 4th grader for a nice smile in front of the school. “But Mo-om, there are people here. This is embarrassing!!!”

 

 

 

Comments on: "First Day of School 2013-Pic overload" (4)

  1. I loved the pics. You’re a girl after my own heart.
    Your boys are so cute and that last picture had me laughing out loud.

  2. They grow up so fast but the more school years and time that passes, the more they grow and the more we can enjoy right? The pics are adorable!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

