A family's story

Loose Ends

As summer winds down for us, I am trying to tie up all of the loose ends that have been dangling down around here. I never realized how many we had!!

One thing I have notoriously avoided around here is going through my boys’ old clothes. Last Saturday, my in-laws took the boys for an overnight. While they were gone, I went through 10 years worth of boys’ clothing. I had gone through some of it in the past, but there was so much of it hoarded away. In the boys’ closets alone, I had the equivalent of 12 bins of clothes. I need help. But, after that weekend, I got it all organized, threw out the really junky items, and donated the items that were really dated or not really in style any more. I still have about 10 bins-worth of clothing. Mostly in the 3T-5 range. Yikes.

We also converted Tate’s old bedroom into a homework/study room. Since the older two boys are in bunk beds and sharing a bedroom, we had a nice big space that was becoming another “crap catcher”. So, Hubz ripped out the carpeting, installed some laminate (with the help of our brother-in-law), and then we got IKEA office furniture to make the space into a functional, organized, dedicated homework space. Everything I have read about ADHD/Executive Functioning disorders indicates that individuals who have these disorders really should have a good place where they know they can do homework and study. Done. Boo-yeah!

I confirmed that Cole was able to be switched to a morning preschool class in our school district preschool. I feel so much relief with that knowledge. Also, I cancelled his spot in the park district preschool. I know we’ll miss some of his friends, but I think this is the best place for him right now, to get him ready for kindergarten next year. (gasp!)

I got the pile of paperwork necessary for proof of residency figured out. I will go prove we live where we say we live tonight once Hubz gets home. Once I give the district 3 forms of proof, I will get teacher assignments and other random papers. Usually, we get a letter from their teachers, too. And extra supply lists.

The boys are all registered for their fall activities. We are going to be busy, as always. But they need to have some fun stuff in their lives.

I got Tate’s school schedule, so I am able to schedule ABA tutors for the next 9 months. Luckily, his classes stayed mostly the same, so we should be able to keep our same therapists on the same days, even though we are using a different provider this year. The transition to the new ABA provider starts this week. I am nervous and excited. Tate is somewhat oblivious to it..and that might be a good thing. Of course, for him, not much is changing. His therapists are remaining the same. The programs will likely change a bit, and the consultant is going to be different, but she sounds very approachable on the phone, so I think he’ll take to the switch just fine.

My presence will be somewhat spotty over the next 2 weeks….but once my boys are in school on August 26th, I’ll have weekday mornings to myself…five days a week.

Comments on: "Loose Ends" (2)

  1. I cannot BELIEVE all the hoops parents have to go through to prove residency! We also needed 3 different proofs — and because I was registering two students this year, I had to go to two different offices and show it twice (because being able to communicate that information within the same district would just be too much work, I guess… asshats).

    Glad you’re getting the ball rolling. Good luck with the first day of school!

    • It is ridiculous! We used to have to go to each school, but last year the district streamlined it, so we all go to the high school…which is overwhelming in its own right. Good luck to you, as well!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

