A family's story

My “Helper”

I have a confession….my “get healthy” resolve crumbled in January. I maintained my 30 minutes per day of movement (which I’ve been doing since the end of November, thank-you-very-much), but my eating and tracking fell to pieces. As the stress of dealing with med changes, behavior escalation, and insurance plan changes and deadlines wore me down, I turned to my bestest friends in the whole world: carbs. Mmmm…they are so comforting, are they not?? They make me feel good, they taste good, and they fill me up on a cold, dreary day.

However, a couple of months of carb-loading is NOT a good plan when one has decided it’s time to get active and healthy. So unfair!! Wishing that my clothes had shrunk in a freakish laundering incident or something, I jumped on the scale on Monday. As much as I hoped that it was a laundry issue, it was not. I just gained weight. I was just about back at the weight that prompted me to start getting healthy again in November. Drat!

Knowing that I was back where I started, and that shorts and bathing suits were closer than I would like, I walked on Monday, pushing myself to go a little faster than I had been on the treadmill. I worked up a little sweat. On Tuesday I attended my barre class at the Y. She made us do lunges. I think she was punishing us for not coming over spring break…ye-ouch! Last night, I started Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred.  Oh, great googly moogly!! It hurt.

I did Day 1, Level 1. And I was sweating. And huffing. I wanted to shut the darned DVD off midway….and that’s when Tate came upstairs.

“Hi, Mom. I work with you.”

“Er. (huff,puff) Oh…(deep breath) kay.” (I am not in good shape. Yes, I have walked 30 minutes a day on our treadmill since November, but um, yeah…..)

I was at a point in the video where  Jillian Michaels demands that everyone do a butt-kicking run in place. There is a “modified” version where one doesn’t have to kick all the way to the butt. The full-effects version calls for getting your heel to your rear. Ow. I clearly was doing the “modified” version. Tate started to run in place next to me, giggling as JM encouraged us to kick our butts. “She said butt.”

We had to do jumping jacks, next. I started to do them, huffing and puffing along. Tate did his version of a jumping jack. It wasn’t as coordinated as the trainers’ on the video, but he held his own. This was fun for him. Gaah! “You do it, Mommy!!” Yay…great. But I did. I kept up. At the end of this particular circuit, we were instructed to lay on our back, and criss-cross crunch. Tate was trying to contort his body into the position on the screen. He looked like he was trying to do a new yoga move or something. After a few attempts he just laid down and commanded, “Go, Mommy! Do the crunch!” Awesome…was he in cahoots with JM????? Brat.

The next circuit had “jump-roping”. Tate loved it. He was jumping and laughing and shouting, “poop”. (Poop is his newest stim word. Age appropriate, yes. Incredibly annoying and somewhat maddening?? Totally.) Anyway, he jumped along. Then we had to “box”. As JM shouted encouragement to punch as hard and as fast as we could, Tate kept going and going. He was good at it. He kept me going, too. He did all of the cardio and strength stuff with me, even though he didn’t have hand-weights. His push-ups are a riot. He decided to sit out the crunches/ab workouts. (Smart kid.)

I made it through the video. I was sweating. I was flushed. I knew my muscles were going to be mad at me later (they were), but I felt good. Day one to a better me. And thanks to Tate, I kept going. As I looked over at him during one of the cardio sessions, and I saw his smiling face as he tried his best to keep up, I realized….if he can do it…I totally can. I mean, I just have to overcome inertia. My son has to overcome a lot more than that every day.

So, yeah, Tate’s my helper. This morning he asked if he could “work” with me again. I told him we could do it after school. That made him smile. So, hopefully in 30 days I’ll be more toned, um, “shredded”, if you will. And Tate will get me through.

Comments on: "My “Helper”" (3)

  1. Hey, it’s nice to have a willing partner.

  2. Uh, can I borrow Tate for a while? 😉 You have the best helper there! (Mine just asks me to feed him McDonald’s fries…it’s killing me!!)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

