A family's story

From the Mouths of Babes…

Kids say the darnedest things, don’t they??

A few gems have popped out at our house lately.

-After a discussion about a baby shower that I was going to be attending last weekend, Cole asked where the baby would be. I told him that the baby would be in the mommy’s tummy. He looked at me, and started laughing. “That’s just siww-ey (silly)”. I said it wasn’t silly…that babies grow in their mommy’s tummies for a bit before they are born into the world. He giggled again. “No, they can’t grow there. There’s no room for them to get out.” I mentioned how his aunt had his cousin in her tummy last year…and he looked at me in all seriousness. “Mommy, there is no room for the baby to come out of the mouth.” He pointed to his mouth. I stifled a laugh. “The mommy has to go, “Blahhh, and it comes out”‘. So, um, yeah…Cole thinks that we barf up our babies….

-Tate has a new script. “This is no time for (fill in the blank).” Last weekend he wanted Hubz to go upstairs and play Skylander Giants with him and Jake. Hubz was playing a game on his PS3 in the basement. “Daddy, this is no time for playing games.”  Tate has also used the script on his brothers. “Jake, this is no time for going potty.” “Cole, this is no time for naked bottoms.” (Cole likes to streak around the first floor…so, um, I kind of agree with Tate on this one.) Oh, and lest you worry, I have not been spared. “Mommy, this is no time for phones.” (I was reprimanded after checking Facebook updates…)

– I was losing patience with the boys the other day as we were loading ourselves into the van so that we could go to the library. I rose my voice. I *may* have yelled at them to get their acts together. Jake looks at me and says, “Mommy, is your brain going crazy? Take a deep breath.” Cole chimed in, “Yeah, mommy, stop being so mad.”

-We are seriously contemplating making the room-share between Tate and Jake permanent. We have discussed bunk beds. I’m much more skittish about it than Hubz. I think Jake was using his Jedi-mind powers on me last night.

Jake (on a mumbling run-by while I was reading something on my phone): “So, you like our new bunk beds, right, Mom?”

Me: “Mmm-hmm. Sure.”

Jake: “YESSS!!! Score!”

Me: “Wait, what?”

Hubz: “You realize you just totally agreed to let them get bunk beds. Anything aside from a curt “no!” means “yes” to a kid.”

Me: “Aw, crap…”

Comments on: "From the Mouths of Babes…" (4)

  1. Bunk beds are fun, our boys have bunks. They have the one that is a loft over the desk and dresser, and the bottom bunk runs out like a t.

  2. Karla (Mom2MissK) said:

    Mommy! This is no time for bunk beds! 😉

  3. Cute! Barfing up babies in an interesting direction to take things! Lol! I like Tate’s new script. It sounds like he will ready for politics any day now… 😉

  4. Laughing LOUDLY because the crazy thing is my spectrum kiddos thinks babies come out of the mom’s mouth TOO…despite how many times I have told him otherwise. He seems to be blocking out the truth, LOL. He also thought they got delivered in crates…not wood ones, mind you..just plastic.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

