A family's story

Thankful Thursday–belated

Yesterday was a bit of insanity around here. I left the house at 7:15 to help prepare for Jake’s class’ Veterans’ Breakfast. I didn’t get home again until 11:40, after I had picked Cole up from preschool. Tate’s ABA therapist had been in a car wreck on Tuesday, and she cancelled both Tuesday and Thursday sessions, so I had Tate for a few hours on Thursday afternoon. He was dysregulated. He was distracted. Thankfully, I was able to get him to do some homework, but he wanted my undivided attention. Most things around the house fell to the wayside.

So, enough of my “excuses”. I will do my “Thankful Thursday” on Friday. This week, I am thankful for this:

 

 

As of November 5, 2012, Cole is developing at a “typical” rate as compared to like-age peers. He is “typical”. As the letter states above, “There are no significant concerns at this time.” I showed this letter to Hubz last night. I asked if I could frame it. This is a first for us.

I am thankful for the preschool screening program that our school district offers. I am thankful that Cole was able to perform “typically” on the screening. I am thankful that my gut was right..and that he is a mostly “typical” kid. I know that at some point in his life, Cole may end up needing something. Or maybe not. For today, I savor the fact that I don’t have to worry more than usual…and endure more testing. I can breathe. And that is a beautiful thing…

Comments on: "Thankful Thursday–belated" (3)

  1. It is a relief to have confirmed what you know in your heart. I know you would not have Jake and Tate any way other than who they are (adorable), but with Cole, he is who he is and from everything I’ve read, you knew his NT nature all along. It just feels to me like if anyone had found Cole to be any way other than what you knew in your heart he already was – not knowing yourself would have been your concern, not any potential disability. xoxo

  2. That *is* a wonderful sigh of relief… both to have confirmation of something you know in your heart AND to have it be a *good* thing! LOL. Happy celebration hugs to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

