A family's story

Are we there yet?!

+Is October done yet?! I feel like the past 4 weeks have ddrrraaagggeeedddddd. By my standards, it should be December by now. For real. I know I have whined about this month more than a few times. I am sorry…but this is my main outlet, so bear with me.

There is nothing life-shattering going on here…and to be honest, the kids are all doing okay. I am busy, and, well, I’m just not motivated to write much about anything. I have tons of ideas floating around in my head, but when I sit down to write about them, all my brain wants to think about is whether I got the right permission slip to the right teacher, or if I have all of the party essentials for Jake’s classroom Halloween party, or if we have enough classroom parents volunteered for the Veterans’ Breakfast in 2 weeks.

Here are a few tidbits to bring you up to date with our lives until I can spend more time writing…hopefully next week I’ll have some good blog fodder for you all!!

– Jake is going on a Haunted Hike with Hubz tomorrow night for Cub Scouts. Jake is being a little resistant, but one of his best Cub Scout buddies is going, so we think he’ll have a blast once they are there. Hubz is totally pumped…he can’t wait.

-I am taking Tate and Cole to a Halloween extravaganza with my sister and her husband. (Auntie K & Uncle J) One of their friends lives on a farm and throws a huge bash for families…we decided to try it this year. I had to come up with a costume. I am going as Katniss…I hope the odds will be ever in my favor! Tate is going as a spider…he finally told us what he wanted to be..and I can easily whip up some fake “legs” and dress him in all black. Cole doesn’t want to be a shark anymore…now he says he is Spiderman…so we shall see.

-We will be carving pumpkins on Sunday. I’m sure it will be nothing less than chaotic and loud and a bunch of fun.

-It dropped 30 degrees between yesterday and today. Brr!!! Tate looked at me like I had 3 heads when I made him wear pants and a jacket to school today. I hate the big temperature shifts. Today feels absolutely freezing!!

-Tate got a cold last weekend. He’s still a snotty-coughing mess. Cole woke up Tuesday night with croup. My kid, by the way, is the only one who gets croup on a night when it’s 62 degrees..and of course the steam from the shower didn’t do much. Ugh. He has a cold now, and the croup is gone. Thank goodness. Jake woke up with a runny nose today. Ah–the snot trifecta! Gotta love it. Any bets on how long before Hubz and I get sick?! Over under???

-Tate’s last soccer game for the fall season is tomorrow. I hope it goes better than last week. Last week his usual buddies were sick, so he had a different buddy. Also? They merged his team with the slightly-more-ability team, and well, he struggled greatly. (Also, he was getting that cold.) He tried to sit down on the field. He stood in the goal, not moving. It was heartbreaking. I don’t know if he’ll fight going tomorrow. I wish I could guarantee that he’ll have his 2 regular buddies and be with his regular team..but I don’t know. Oh, and because it’s the last day, the parents are playing against the kids. Not sure how well this will go for a bunch of kids who thrive on “sameness”. We shall see. Tate will either get a kick out of it, or will tell me to “please move, Mommy” and ask me to stand on the sideline.

-Tate’s teacher started a new tool for him. He has a sheet that he uses to let us know more about his day at school. He has visual cues and words beneath them. He can read most of the words. I have had back and forth conversations with my son about his day at school for just about the first time ever. And also?! I know that his answers are correct. No scripting or scripted answers. If I get a script or some scripting,  I can prompt him to give me the correct answer, because his day’s events are right there for me to see. It is glorious. Why didn’t we think of this before?! (Mostly because he wouldn’t have been ready before…but I am so glad that he is now.)

-Finally, last night I got an umprompted, unsolicited, purely spontaneous, “Mommy, I love you.” Complete with a hug. From my boy. It simply does.not.get.any.better.than.that.

Happy Friday, everyone!!

 

Comments on: "Are we there yet?!" (3)

  1. So while I liked everything in this post, the last two points are completely AWESOME! The school log has been my best friend for both my boys. I would have no clue what was going on – no way to ask questions about their day – without it. So glad you have this new tool.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

