A family's story

Few Words Wednesday

Hey everyone…I’m still alive…just incredibly busy. We have had a very busy October between IEP meetings, Hubz coordinating the Cub Scout popcorn sales for the first time ever (what a headache!!), my co-chairing the Red Ribbon Week Committee at the boys’ school, and preparation for Halloween Parties.

Today I am taking Cole to the district’s Preschool Screening. His preschool teacher mentioned that he struggles a bit with writing and coloring. At home I know that he rarely chooses to do any activities with crayons/pencils/markers/etc. He’d rather play with blocks, Legos, etc. I know that his fine motor is ok because he does Legos well (the real Legos, not just Duplos), but I want to have it checked out. Plus, I am slightly concerned about his annunciation/pronunciation. To be quite honest, I have no solid bar to judge it against, and I don’t know if his errors are age-appropriate or not…so, I figure a speech eval will be beneficial, too.

While I filled out the parent questionnaire yesterday, I was amazed by how many of the “problem” areas that I would have checked for my other boys are not an issue for Cole. That made me feel good…and a little sad, as my older two guys have always had a few struggles. Cole also met his milestones on time, if not early, due to his adjusted age for prematurity. He’s always been ahead of the curve. I often tease that he is “three going on nine”. In his mind, whatever Jake can do, he can do as well, if not better. I guess it has been a positive for him.

At the end of the questionnaire, there is a small section that asks if anyone else in the family has been diagnosed with:

-Autism

-ADD/ADHD/Hyperactivity

-Developmental Delay

-Speech impairment

-Mood disorder

And it asks if anyone in the family has:

-Received counseling

-Attended special education classes

-Received therapy/intervention services

It gave me 2 little lines to “if yes, explain”. I joked with Hubz that I needed at least a 5 page appendix to explain our older two boys…and that would just be a very, very brief overview. Instead, I was limited to two measly lines. As a verbose person who tends to be loquacious, I struggled. I settled on the following: Cole’s oldest brother, Jake, has been in speech therapy since age 4. He also has an ADHD-combined type dx with a specific math learning disability. His older brother, Tate, has an Autism dx, with co-morbid ADHD. He was in EI prior to age three, and has been in special education since his third birthday. He also receives speech, OT, PT, and ABA therapy.

I am fairly certain that I will know a few of the therapists doing evaluations. I hope that I am just covering my bases, and that if Cole needs any therapy, that it will be minimal and relatively painless. I can handle 30 minutes of speech twice a week. Of course, being a mom of special needs children, I always have that nagging voice in the back of my head that wonders if there’s something more going on that I’m just not attuned to seeing.

Wish us luck!!

Comments on: "Few Words Wednesday" (6)

  1. lol @ few words.
    Definitely good luck!

  2. Oy. I totally get this. I have questions about my third as well and I’m all, I DON’T KNOW WHAT TYPICAL LOOKS LIKE SO I CAN’T TELL IF HE IS!!!! Sorry for shouting. I’m a wee bit frustrated about the whole thing these days. I hope the evaluation goes well!

    Also? This: “As a verbose person who tends to be loquacious…” LOVE it.

  3. I hope it goes well too! I think you know more than you give yourself credit for. Try to take a moment to breathe! You sound sooo busy! Sending hugs and good thoughts your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

