A family's story

10 Things Thursday

Editor’s Note: Today is the second straight day that we have a forecast of more than 100 degrees Farenheit. I’m feeling sluggish and scattered, so, here are 10 things I’m thinking about today, in no particular order. Stay cool.

10. I can’t believe that we are 5 weeks in to summer break already!! Tate’s day camp is over after tomorrow’s session. Jake is done with summer school tomorrow. Time is flying, and I’m not even having that much fun!! I will take it, though. This means I only have 7 more weeks of summer break where all 3 boys are home most of the time.

9. I need to get Cole on the potty-training train. He starts preschool in September. They don’t do diapers. He was all excited to go on the potty like his brothers about a month and a half ago. Now, not so much. I asked if he wanted to wear big-boy underwear yesterday. He said, “No, I wear my elephant diapers!!” (We buy our diapers from Costco, and the size he wears has a cutesy elephant on the front of the diaper.) Little stubborn stinker!! This may be a looonggg couple of months!

8. Target was putting out their school supplies on Monday morning when I was doing a little shopping. I. Love. School. Supplies. I am such a mega-dork, and I don’t care. I don’t even buy them sometimes…I just love to go and browse. I get downright giddy as I see what characters and pictures adorn the current versions of notebooks, folders, pencil pouches, and such. I love pens, too. I like to check out the lunch boxes, and water bottles, and the newness of it all. There is definitely a spark of excitement that courses through my veins when we approach this time of year. Our district allows us to buy the box o’ supplies in the spring, but I abstain. I actually enjoy buying the supplies for my boys.

7. I’m hot. The thought of cooking or planning a meal for my family is repulsive, quite honestly. I’m glad we have leftovers from our bar-b-que so I don’t have to worry about tonight. As for the rest of the week, I hope some veggies and chips suffice as a meal. I’ll throw a piece of cheese on their plates and call it a day.

6. Jake is becoming more independent! I have been encouraging him to do more for himself, and thankfully, he seems to be taking it on without an issue. He’s getting his own water and juice, asking for, and retrieving his own snacks, he’s operating the tv remote (I thought that was ingrained in the male brain…but no, we had to teach him how to use the universal remote), he’s picking out his own clothes, he’s putting his laundry away, he’s showering on his own, and is handling his personal hygiene without me having to breathe down his neck all of the time. I could get used to this!

5. It’s just not fair that kids with sensory disorder get colds. Tate is fighting a summer cold. Both of the others had it, sniffled a bit, had a little cough, and were good to go. Poor Tate is struggling. He gets mega head colds, and his system is over-done when he gets a cough. The cough started yesterday. It’s heart-wrenching to watch him fight with his own body to stifle the cough because he cannot stand the sensation. That throws him into sensory disaster, too. At least he was able to find some calm while playing with the hose yesterday…it took his mind off of his runny nose and cough.

4. Scheduling play dates is rough! Part of Tate’s current program schedule for therapy includes peer play. I have to schedule play dates with some kids we know so that the therapists can facilitate appropriate play. I know that so many people lament the over-scheduling of today’s youth..and I am seeing that up close and in person! I have sent out emails, and so far, everyone I have hit up for a play date is busy when we’re free, and free when we’re busy. I’m going mad!! On top of it, the director of Tate’s ABA therapy gave me a strict talking to about the importance of play dates. Well, hel-lo, I know that. I’m trying…I really am. I think she should have to schedule these,then. Yeesh!

3. Our geriatric dog is not doing so well. I know the extreme heat bothers all creatures, but she’s a mess. She turned 12 in early June, and she’s not eating much, she sleeps most of the day, and she’s really, really hobbling about now. Hubz and I know that the dreaded vet visit is coming…sooner than later…and it’s so hard to make that final call. She was our first foray into caring for something else other than ourselves. In so many ways she prepared us for the plunge into parenthood. It breaks my heart that she’s suffering so right now…and it makes me tear up when I think about losing her.

2. I got a couple of emails recently from the NFL network about fantasy football. Training camp isn’t that far away!! I am soooo excited about the prospect of football season starting in a couple of months. I think that is getting me through the doldrums of summer. I love a good game of football..both collegiate and professional. My collegiate team has been meh, and we have a new coach this year. I’m not too sure what to expect. I think I’ll go in with moderate expectations and see what happens from there. Even though I’m not from there, I am a huge Green Bay fan. I’m getting excited for our season this year!

1. I got a copy of Kate Winslet’s Golden Hat Project book from the library. It was an interesting read. I was amazed by the back-story of the book. I was even more amazed by the number of celebrities who donned the hat for a good cause. I enjoyed reading their statements. While there are some celebrities who are ignorant and use Autism as a derogatory word or reference, it is reassuring to see that so many more people who are in a position of influence support the Autistic community, recognizing that they should be treated with respect and dignity, and not as some punchline.*

*I read this book of my own volition. I wasn’t asked to read it or comment on it…just was intrigued, and checked out a copy from my local library. If you haven’t had a chance to read it, I would recommend it. And so-called celebrities that continue to use “autistic” as a derogatory word can go fly a kite. Different, not less, people. That is all. Carry on.

Comments on: "10 Things Thursday" (7)

  1. Amen to your last point!! I have placed that book on all my lists but haven’t picked up a copy yet.

    You and I are twinsies on the school supplies!! I love them but I do get a twinge of panic thinking about the ipcoming school year because we haven’t settled on the school yet and I hate that incomplete feeling.

    Hope you stay cool! (and veggies, chips and cheese sound awesome to me! 😉 )

    • I’m glad I’m not alone on the school supply front! Hope you figure out school for next year soon. I hate the incomplete feeling, too. I am experiencing that a little, because I need to meet with Tate’s team in August to figure out his schedule (I want to pull him a bit early every day for ABA).

      The heat finally broke, but we subsided on veggies, chips and ice cream those last few days. 🙂

  2. This post is another reason I’m convinced we live the same life 🙂 right there with you on almost all of them. The colds and potty training…ugh. And the cooking? I feel like that all the time :). Our dog is right there too.

    • 🙂 I really hate cooking this time of year. Sorry you have the cold/potty training/dog worries, too. Those stink.

  3. Oh my gosh! I LOVE school supplies too! No – you are so so sosososo not a dork! Let’s go shopping together!

  4. Brooke Graphia said:

    I get down right GIDDY about school supplies LOVE IT

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

