A family's story

Last Monday I braved the heat and ran to our mailbox to see what gems awaited me. Another “exclusive” credit card offer? AT&T U-verse trying to persuade me to buy what we already have? Yet another EOB? I opened up the door and found a big manilla envelope addressed to “The Parents of Jake (Our last name)”. I opened the envelope and was greeted with a cover sheet reminding us of Jake’s upcoming appointments. There were quite a few forms, as well. I was glad we got it with plenty of time to spare, and yet, my heart sank at the same time. I know how difficult this is going to be for us, for Jake.

Not only do Hubz and I have our forms, but Jake has to do a self-assessment. With his reading and processing issues, I’m not sure if he’ll be able to fill them out on his own. I’m not sure if I should help him…or let him do it himself. I guess I’ll have him fill it out in the room while I’m around, in case he has any questions. I will try to help him understand the question, without influencing his answer. This is a new hurdle, as all of Tate’s evaluations were done prior to age 6, so we just filled them out.

image

Sometimes I feel like I am trapped in GroundHog Day… Something’s just not right with our kid. We talk to the school district. We fill out paperwork. We meet to discuss our a-typical kid. We devise an IEP to address global delays. We’re encouraged to get an outside evaluation. We fill out more paperwork. We get the eval. I scramble like a crazy lady to get everything in order to help our child. Hubz talks me off the ledge. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

On the upside (I’m trying to stay upbeat, here), we will start the school year with a clear diagnosis and opinion. Our neuropsychologist is phenomenal and gives parents pages of resources. The hospital with which she’s affiliated has several supports…and has a dedicated resource line for parents to use to find help. We’ll get through this, as always….and hopefully we’ll have some concrete answers as we head into Jake’s third grade year.

Comments on: "My Own Personal Groundhog Day" (4)

  1. I had to laugh when you talked about AT&T offering what you already have! That happens to me every month with Direct TV too!

    I know it’s scary and I don’t need to tell you all the ways it will help – you know all that! What I will say is that you know we are all standing with you at these appointments in spirit, holding your hand and we will be here when you find out to support you always! xo

  2. I’m with you.

  3. Brooke Graphia said:

    When is the appointment? I know you will be relieved to have a plan in place and start 3rd grade off GREAT

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

