A family's story

Who Needs Sleep?

This post is written in stream of consciousness today. I am wiped out…exhausted.

Like many other children, mine are affected by the uncertainty of the end of the school year. There is so much anxiety…different routines, different teachers, less structure, etc. Because anxieties are high, probability of sleep at our house is low.

The past month, Tate has fought going down to sleep until almost 9 pm. He is then up in the middle of the night–and in our room. He wakes up around 5:30. I don’t know how he’s still vertical.

Jake’s issue is that regardless of the time he goes to bed–8 pm, 9 pm, 11 pm–he is almost always up around 5:15. He’s totally up and awake with the birds. He announces his trip to the bathroom, insists on coming in and laying in our bed, clears his throat several 1000 times, and then gets up and does his walk-slap-clap routine in our bedroom and bathroom.

Most mornings they leave me alone and converge on Hubz’s side of the bed. He becomes a jungle gym, slide, pillow, etc. Today, he must have paid them a bribe, as they would not leave me alone. Tate started to use my ribcage as his pivot point out of the bed–OUCH! Jake was in my face, pulling at my hair–because it was in my face. (Remind me to teach him about bedhead–again.) Then they were both touching me, pestering me about my phone and tv.

I rolled over, trying to avoid the obnoxiousness…only to realize it was 6 am. Time to shower. Off I went…at least I could enjoy those 20 minutes of peace. I got dressed, and started getting the boys in gear. I thought maybe I could get downstairs with just the older 2, but that’s when Cole’s Mom! Mom! Mom! Alert went off. *sigh*

My life these days gives new meaning to the old adage: no rest for the weary. Yawnnnn…..Snzzzzz…Please pass the caffeine!

Comments on: "Who Needs Sleep?" (8)

  1. If only I could come and help out sometimes while you slept in, I would. I can’t imagine this. Lucky for us, we don’t have sleep issues. It must be awful on top of everything else.

  2. Man, we’ve been there. Son has always arisen with the birds. 5:30 is pretty typical. And he does everything loud. One thing that has helped tremendously with keeping him asleep during the night — a weighted blanket. I was very skeptical, but he used to get up 3-4 times a night to use the bathroom, asked to be ‘tucked up’ etc. Now he sometimes goes the whole night without waking up at all.

    • I think I REALLY need to invest in one of those….It can’t hurt to try, anyway!

      • We got ours here, on a tip from Jess @ Diary of a Mom:
        http://www.beanblanket.com/index.html

        They’re expensive, but you can return it any time in the first two weeks for full refund, IIRC. So all you’re really risking is the shipping costs — not cheap, the thing weighs 16 pounds — but I cannot overestimate the difference it has made. Sleeping through the night used to be a once-in-a-blue-moon thing, usually when he was sick. Now it’s not that rare at all. And if he gets up, it’s maybe once, not 4-5 times.

      • Thank you! I will be budgeting for this!

  3. blogginglily said:

    Lily has been interspersing a few 8:00 a.m.s with her previously consistant 6:00 a.m. wakeups. . . I’m cautiously optimistic.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

