A family's story

I know that this post most likely will only entertain me…but I want to document a few of the amusing phrases that have slipped through my children’s lips lately.

Let’s talk about Jake. Somewhere on TV he heard the phrase, “Snug as a bug in a rug” in a Southern dialect. He now makes up these weird phrases and says them in a Southern twang…”worms are wiggly as a bug in mud”. I’m wet as a prickly fish in a puddle.” “I’ll shush you like a slammer-jammer.” For serious. He’s said these things. When I’ve questioned their origin he has told me he created them. Observe:

Me: Where did you get that from?
Jake: My brain! (Duh, you ignorant woman!)

Jake also uses the phrase “headbutt slam” way too often. It’s fairly self-explanatory, but I really wonder why he needs to use it when I ask if he’s finished a chore. Observe:

Me: Jake, did you put your cleats in the shoe bin?
Jake: Mom, do I need to headbutt slam you?
Me: (in my mind- wtf?!) A simple yes or no works…

Moving on to Tate. He just cracks me up. While his spontaneous speech continues to evolve and progress, he does have a lot of scripts and some echolalia. What’s funny is when the scripts and echolalia are slightly different from what has actually been said. Observe:

Tv commercial for Capri Sun: Respect it! Respect the pouch!
Tate: Expect it! Expect the couch!

Me: Gross! That’s disgusting!
Tate: Gurrwoss! That’s discussing!

Me: Mmm! Delicious!
Tate: Mmm! Dishes! (Although, he’s actually saying delicious more and more!)

Veggie Tales: If you like to talk to tomatoes….if a squash can make you smile, if you like to waltz with potatoes, up and down the produce aisle…have we got a show for you.
Tate: Ip you like to talk to tomatoes, ip a squash can make you smile, ip you like to walk with potatoes, up and down the puppy’s smile, have we got a show for you.
(This is better when he’s belting it out at the top of his lungs, doing his Tater dance and beaming a huge smile…it’s infectious…)

Tate: Gimme that chicken nuggets, NOW!
Me: Whoa! Can you ask differently?
Tate: Gimme those chicken nuggets.
Me: How about a polite word?
Tate: Please. Gimme those chicken nuggets. NOW!
Me (inner head slap…) Can you ask nicely?
Tate: I said please.

Cole. Ah, my sweet Cole. He is two-months-shy-of-three. He is the most verbal of my 3 boys. He has great conversation skills. But, being just-shy-of-three, he has those adorable misprnounciations that are sweet.

Cole: Can I play with the train traps?
Me: the train tracks? Sure.
Cole: Thanks, Mommy! Train traps are cool!

Cole: Can I get papas at Cossco?
Me: You want pizza at Costco?
Cole: mm-hmm.
Me: Can you ask nicely?
Cole: Pwease!?
Me: Please!
Cole: Thank you!

Cole: My bird day is in Joom.
Me: Your birthday is in June.
Cole: My birthday is in June. I get cake and presents.
Me: Sure.
Cole: And woo-woo trucks.
Me: Fire trucks.
Cole: Fi-wer trucks. And Lego dudes.
Me: Fire trucks and Lego dudes. Yep.

Cole: I wanna watch Doc mcstuppins.
Me: Doc McStuffins.
Cole: yes.
Me: How do you ask?
Cole: Pwease.
Me: Please.
Cole: Welcome.

I just totally giggled. At my own post. Ahh, well, at least I amused myself and recorded these for posterity!

Comments on: "Kids Say the Darndest Things…." (2)

  1. Haha! “Expect it! Expect the couch!” I do, Tate, I do. That is my new phrase around the house – especially when the hubs is around! 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

