A family's story

Whirlwind Weekend

We were on the go for much of this weekend. I am exhausted. I figured I could provide the highlights…

1. We survived the Walk for Autism Speaks event! It was chilly, damp, drizzly, and gray, but we did it. Tate managed thanks to our phones (and Playdoh commercials) and big puddles that we allowed him to jump in during the walk. Heaven!

2. The teams of volunteers who put on the walk did a great job. Just a little confused by the really loud bands. It’s telling when many of the walkers are wearing sound-reducing headphones, are covering their ears, and are complaining about the noise. Wayyyy too much sensory overload.

3. After a rough transition into the restaurant for lunch, Tate noshed on a grilled cheese & french fries while watching Mario Brothers clips on youtube. He was quiet and happy. Cole, on the other hand, was “this close” to being sold to the gypsies. No nap + no routine = hell to pay

4. We played outside with the neighbor kids..and our boys, despite the day that was so not typical or routine, were able to hold it together and enjoyed their friends. When children started to meltdown around “that time”, it was not our 3 boys.

5. I got some beautiful handmade cards and gifts on Mothers’ Day. Jake was incredibly proud of the keychain he designed. Tate proudly showed off the milk-carton planter he created. Hubz got me a charm for my Pandora bracelet and a new lens for the camera.

6. Tate was a rockstar during Jake’s lacrosse tournament. He played well, watched Jake, and was well-behaved. Cole, well, he was a typical almost-three-year-old. At least he didn’t spill anything or make it out onto the field. 🙂

7. I visited my mom’s grave site. It was sunny, warm, and a perfect afternoon. She would have been relishing it…I was glad to have some quiet time to talk to her in my heart…and to smile about some of my favorite memories. The 2nd Mothers’ Day without her was much harder than the first…sigh

8. Hubz made me a delicious dinner of grilled veggies and shrimp. Mm! I am spoiled.

9. Hubz cleaned up after the boys’ destruction of the basement, so I didn’t have to do that this morning. He then gave me a nice back rub as we watched Game of Thrones. Best. Hubby. Ever.

10. I got to spend time with the 4 guys who make my world go round…and that couldn’t have been more perfect.

Lowlights of the weekend:
– Cole’s ears apparently don’t work. I hate it when he doesn’t listen!
– Missed my mom–a lot.
– Tate woke up at 1:30 am today…and was up on and off the rest of the wee hours of the morning. The bags under my eyes could hold hundreds of dollars worth groceries. Ughhhh.

Comments on: "Whirlwind Weekend" (5)

  1. That is crazy that there would be such loud bands for that event! ??

    The boys (well except for poor Cole 😦 ) sound like they were wonderful for the weekend! Yay! Where are the photos of the keychain and milk carton planter?! I wanna see!!
    Those sound awesome!

    That’s a lot of love with you and your mama. She always inside your heart, you know? And I know she’s very proud of you! xoxo

  2. blogginglily said:

    My own walk is coming up this weekend. . . part dreading/part looking forward to it. We’ll see how it goes.

  3. So his ears don’t work when you talk with him but the race was too loud? I think he has what my boys have. 🙂

    Why do run weekends always have crappy weather? Sounds like a great weekend nonetheless! Grilled shrimp and veggies? YUM!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

