A family's story

Proper Placement

Tomorrow Hubz and I are meeting with Tate’s team to discuss his recommended placement for first grade. While this should be one of our “easier” meetings, my stomach is still in knots.

I don’t know why I am experiencing so much anxiety over this…we already know that he’ll be in “instructional” first grade. He is progressing, and is academically not too far off from a typical kindergartener (aside from reading). However, he requires too many prompts and interventions from adults in order to perform tasks and finish assignments. His curriculum is modified. He receives a lot of services and benefits from a smaller student-teacher ratio.

I anticipate that the team should know the location of Tate’s classroom, as well. In our district, the “instructional” classrooms are housed in all 5 elementary schools. However, they stay at the same school for grades 1-5. I know our luck, and can conjecture that he most likely will NOT end up at our homeschool…because that would be too convenient.

So, we’ll go and listen to their recommendations. Then we’ll sign some papers, and Tate’s first grade fate will be sealed.

Then comes the anxiety over full-day school and therapy sessions…or, maybe a modified school schedule and therapy sessions…oy, my head is spinning..

Comments on: "Proper Placement" (3)

  1. Hi,

    Was passing by and found your post very interesting. Full day school and therapy sessions…

    Shakti

  2. I always tend to wonder if I’m doing what’s right and getting what my son needs. That is where my anxiety arises from. I have no idea what school we will be at next year. We’ve tried to get into a private school near where I work (30 miles from my home!) but we have been placed 3rd on the waiting list! If we go public, I have to quit working.

    Tate sounds a lot like my son but mine has a full time aide with him in an NT classroom prompting him to get the work done. He really could not survive in a NT classroom without the aide so I guess your post makes me wonder if I have placed him correctly. My feeling is always that my son likes to imitate what he sees. When he sees NTs, he can try to emulate that behavior and language so I want him there and he has made a lot of progress. Academically, our kids are about the same except that mine is hyperlexic. Have you sought an aide for Tate one-on-one in class?

    Hope you get into the school you are hoping for. I will keep my fingers crossed! 🙂

    • I am always wondering if this is the “right” placement…but his neuropsych agrees, so I feel that we’re doing something well. We’d have to go out of our village to get private schooling, too. We haven’t had to cross that bridge…but we keep all options open.
      Our sons do sound similar academically. Tate isn’t hyperlexic, but that little stinker can read more than he lets on (ahh, the manipulator in him…).
      Right now it looks like he WILL go to our home school…but it could change. My fingers are crossed!

Leave a comment

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Gingerheaddad

Just a redheaded dad trying to sort out parenting and the universe.

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

creating equitable and caring classrooms for children

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

Autism & Oughtisms

Dealing with the endless "oughts" of parenting and autism.

Four Sea Stars

My oldest has Asperger's, Sensory Processing and ADD. My daughter is Dyslexic. I have no idea where the third one is.

Unstrange Mind

Remapping My World