A family's story

Super Bowl-ed Over

The House of Hope gathered to watch the Super Bowl last night. Our teams weren’t in it, but in this house we just love football. And when I say “we”, I mean Hubz and I.

Everyone knows that watching the Super Bowl requires (1) an abundance of food that is in the “sometimes” or, more accurately, the “just-apply-this-straight-to-my-muffin-top” pile, and (2) cold beverages. We had both, so I thought we were set.

Hubz turned on the last of the pregame as we got our apps ready. I couldn’t wait to partake of some cheesy breadsticks, crab rangoon dip, potato skins, and veggies. (Gotta make them a part of every meal–5 a day!) I set the coffee table up for our feast. On special occasions we can eat in front of the tv!

As pictures of prior Super Bowl winners flashed across the screen, Jake was kind enough to remind both Hubz and me that our teams were in the pictures, but NOT at the game. Gee, thanks, buddy.

We had to pause the action just as they were going to announce the Walter Payton Humanitarian Award winner. Demands were being made for lemonade, cold pizza– not the hot cheese sticks we had just made, some avocado (because the baby carrots, broccoli, and pea pods were just too pedestrian for Jake), and treats. We had to wait a few more minutes to start the game for a tantrum break, brought to us kindly by our resident 2.5 y.o.

Ten minutes later we were able to start the game. Enjoyable is not a word I’d use to describe it. Hubz and I scarfed down an app here and an app there between playing referee amongst the boys, answering the 50 billion off-topic questions, stating yet again that football was the show we were going to watch tonight, and attending to a really, really stinky diaper.

When the boys finished grazing…and none of the 3 ate much…the requests for treats started to drown out the game-again. I had had the brilliant idea to buy cupcakes. Cupcakes with red and blue frosting. Um, yeah….not one of my better ideas. Cole had frosting all over his face, hands, arm, Tate’s shoulder, and somehow, all over his own foot. Tate had frosting all over his nose and upper lip. As I cleaned them up, I prayed the dye would fade by morning.  (Wonder what the protocol is for reporting parents who send their child to school with what appears to be a 5 ‘o-clock shadow, but is, upon closer examination, blue dye??)

We had paused the game several times between our dinner and getting all 3 boys into bed. Whew! Hubz and I collapsed onto the couch. I intended to gorge on m & m’s, however, my head started throbbing, and all I wanted was some water and 2 ibuprofen!

We made it to the 4th quarter…and I checked my phone. Whoops…so the Giants were going to pull it off. Aha! We did stay up to watch the end of the game…it was so exciting! I am glad the Giants won.

We went right to bed, which in hindsight was a good idea…Tate woke up at 10:45 with a cough, so Hubz went in and fell asleep in there. Cole was up at 11:30 with the same thing. I had interrupted sleep as Cole and Tate hacked all through the night. I was in the middle of a sleep session when Jake came into my room at 5:50, hacking up a lung and informing me that he had a cough…in the case that his spit in my face wasn’t obvious enough.

Today we are all a bit sluggish, and we are all feeling ooky…for various reasons. I hope we feel better tomorrow.

Comments on: "Super Bowl-ed Over" (2)

  1. Sounds a bit like our super bowl experience. . . only i failed to stock the fridge with as much “cold beverage” as is proper for the event. . .

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

