A family's story

Good Day

Sometimes, when I feel like I am at the end of my rope, when I feel like I’ve fallen into a sand-trap and the sand is dumping in on me and I can’t breathe and feel like hope is draining from my soul, sometimes someone says something that pulls me back out and reassures me that “it” is all worth it.

Today when I was picking up Tate from school, and as I was chasing Cole down the access ramp, yet again, I bumped into, quite literally, Tate’s school psychologist. We exchanged hello’s and she said that she just had to tell me how Tate’s progress is amazing. She observed his classroom and was impressed with his progress and his improvements in behavior. He was focused, participating, and writing the letter of the week neatly and appropriately. I thanked her. She said “he’s like a different kid”.

I was so proud. My heart started to try to burst out of my chest. I felt tears well up in my eyes. I thanked her for noticing…and said how much he has changed, has grown. She said we have every right to be proud…and then she said it…the phrase that put me over the edge…”he’s doing this because you guys are providing him with all of the right tools.”

Music to a special-needs mom’s ears. Someone noticed. All of those trips back and forth in the car to OT, PT, Speech. All of those hours he spends working with the ABA therapists….the tears, the challenges, the anxiety, the sleepless nights, the facilitated play time, the countless games of Candyland, the numerous lessons within lessons that we impart on our child…it is worth it.

I thanked her, smiled, and chased my 2 little monkeys to the car with tears glistening in my eyes. That beautiful boy…he’s gonna be ok. I know it. Sometimes I just need a reminder…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

