A family's story

What’s New?

Nothing very exciting is going on today….kind of a ho-hum day, if you ask me. I don’t have much to share…well, my kids are up to a few new shenanigans, which I will share below…and you may not find them particularly interesting, but I want to remember these for “some day” when I will find them more amusing…

For instance, Cole’s latest phrase is “stop touching me”. Usually this is screamed at the top of his lungs. He pulled this one out when we were at the library yesterday. I was trying to get him down from a precarious position (while other moms looked at me with that smug “my kid would never…”)and he belts it out. Fantastic. He followed it with, “my boo-boo hurts.” Yep, I fully anticipate DCFS to be at my door any moment…

Tate’s got a new pastime. He begs for microwave popcorn. When I relent, after about 20 minutes of perseveration on the topic, he happily unwraps the cellophane, puts the bag in just right, and presses the popcorn button. He does a little dance as he watches it spin right round baby, right round… When it’s done, he excitedly pulls it out and asks me to put it in a bowl.  The little stinker grabs handfuls and “accidentally” drops it on the floor. This gives him the perfect excuse to pull out the vacuum to drive us all further into insanity.

Last, but not least, we have Jake’s obsession with Plants vs. Zombies. He always has his DS in his hands…and if that’s not around, he uses the game  on my or Hubz’s phones. Sometimes he will just stare at You Tube videos of the different levels. He even brings it into the bathroo–ok, TMI there. Let’s just say I spray the DS with Lysol when he’s at school.

So, yeah…we may have some stuff that’s “new”…but nothing that is overly exciting, except maybe to us…or even not, as the case may be…although, well, Tate seems pretty darn excited about his popcorn/vacuum strategy…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

