A family's story

Suck it, U-Verse!

I have a major bone to pick with AT&T. The main box for our U-verse is on the fritz….we have only had this thing for 6 months. It started to act up yesterday during the day. Hubz power-cycled it, and it seemed to work again.

We turned it off, and went about our day. I got home from picking Jake up from school, and he asked to watch a tv show. I let him, and the system didn’t turn on at first, but then it did. After his 1/2 hour show was done, we turned it off and went to Religious Ed.

The tv was off until about 10 ’til 7. At that point we tried to turn it on so the boys could watch a recorded show from earlier in the day. Nothing. NO-THING! Hubz started grumbling and tried to power cycle. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Oh, fudge…

I was a grumble Gus. I admit it. There were several shows on that I had set to record…and I was looking forward to my guilty pleasure, GLEE. Phooey, I say, phooey. Hubz ran into the basement to see if he could get it to work down there…no recording capabilities, but at least I could watch my shows. He even put the kids to bed so I could watch them!

I missed the first 20 minutes of the new episode, but at least I got to watch the rest of the cheesy goodness! Since the kids were in bed and Hubz was playing Skyrim, I decided to watch “New Girl” and “Raising Hope” too. I would have indulged in more, but my head was pounding after successive sleepless nights, so I went to bed.

This morning Hubz popped in a DVD. That got us out of our problem then..but after I picked Tate up from school, he wanted to watch Imagination Movers. I tried to get the thing to work, and it wouldn’t. Some error came up about a lack of HDMI connection. Impressing even myself, I figured out where that was, but it was plugged in and looked ok. Arghhhhhh!!

It’s one thing to mess up my mindless tv…it’s another to cut off my kid’s access to his show…which is part of his typical routine. He was very displeased. I am now thinking I should have put Tate on the line to customer service. Ugh.

So, here I sit…desperately hoping that You Tube videos of Dave, Scott, Smitty & Rich will satiate Tate’s appetite for the Movers until we can get this blip with our U-verse figured out.

No TV as usual, crabby-patty children, lack of sleep, and hormones gone wild make Lisa something, something….ggrrr..snap!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

