A family's story

A Long Weekend

My boys don’t have school tomorrow. Jake is ecstatic. In fact, he did his happy dance and called me the best mom ever when I reminded him today. I didn’t have a darn thing to do with it, but hey, I will take some credit!

While a part of me is looking forward to the relaxing (so to speak) morning that this day off provides, the other part is somewhat dreading it. We aren’t that far from Winter Break. This means that “we” are fresh out of ideas for things to do…and kind of out of money for anything major, either. I have been wracking my brain…and have come up with the following plan to get us through..

1. I will let Jake and Tate sleep in the basement tonight. This means an extra show on demand, some popcorn, a few sour gummies, lemonade, and pulling out the futon. They love this ritual.

2. We’ll have cinnamon rolls for breakfast, and the boys can stay in their pj’s for a few extra hours. PLUS they get to watch an extra tv show in the morning, too.

3. We will build new structures with the lego buckets, and read some books that are “new to us” from the library. We will get Culver’s for lunch.

4. Jake and Cole get to traipse about Target with me while Tate goes to his PT and Speech in the afternoon. I *may* even let them get something from the dollar bins. I know, I know, big spender here…but see above for “almost out of money” reference.

5. We are going to make pizza for dinner…got tons of fun fixings today.

Supposedly we are getting hit by snow tomorrow. The meteorologists around here are salivating with the prospects of 4-8 inches…we shall see. I just really hope it doesn’t make the trek to therapy a pain in the butt. This being said, we may play in the snow for a bit.

On Saturday, Jake and Hubz are going to a hockey game with Hubz’s dad. It’s part of an outing that Jake’s Cub Scout Pack is doing. While they do that, I think Tate, Cole and I will hunker down at home with some Imagination Movers and a few rousing games of Candyland!

Sunday brings Mass, Tate’s Sunday School, possible dinner with my family, and Jake’s 3rd lacrosse skills class. Oh, and my countless loads of laundry. Whoo-frickin-hoo.

This is just a rough plan. I hope it all works out. Stay tuned for an update..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

