A family's story

Ornamentation

Happy St. Nicholas Day!! I grew up celebrating the true St. Nicholas Day on December 6. We would put our shoes out on the night of December 5, and if we were good, St. Nick left us some goodies. Apparently this is not a widespread celebration. Who knew?!

I looked it up on Wikipedia so that I could share some of the details with my religious ed class tonight. I found out that in the US it is more regional…and more of a German celebration. That makes sense, as my mom was predominantly German in heritage….

I have continued this tradition with my children. In our case, if they’ve been good, St. Nicholas brings an ornament for the tree, and a few sweet treats.

This year, Jake got an ornament from the movie UP. It’s the kid with the old man, and the kid is showing off his badges. Jake is a cub scout, so I thought it was appropriate. Cole got Space Mickey from one of his favorite Mickey Mouse Clubhouse episodes. Hubz got a voice-recordable family ornament…it will be fun to preserve the kids’ voices!

I, er, St. Nick really, really struggled to find the perfect ornament for Tate. What would be appropriate? He ended up getting a snowman playing baseball. This past summer Tate played ball…so it kind of pertained to his life. This morning he could have cared less. As his brothers got excited about their ornaments, Tate just played Angry Birds on my phone. I tried to engage him, but he told me it was stinky…and then I was stinky.

All of the new ornaments adorn our tree. Cole has gone over to admire them a few times. Sometimes I wish Tate would…but he seems to become interested in the ornaments as we put them away in January. Go figure…

Hopefully he’ll get into them at some point…and if not, it’s fun to talk about in years to come.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

