A family's story

Er, well, he came to town. We saw him. Today. At brunch. I was a bit apprehensive as to how the kids would do, but the morning went fairly well. There were no major incidents, so I will qualify this experience as a success. Tate had some anxiety, and would only eat some cream cheese (eww!), but other than that, and a brief slandering of Santa as “stinky”, he was great. Jake was his usual chill-fly self. As long as I didn’t mention anything about the homework waiting for him at home, he was sweet as can be. Cole was a little rambunctious…but nothing we couldn’t handle. I just wish he would have sat still a bit more. I find myself despising this stage between confinement in a high chair and the ability to sit patiently in his seat while we all eat our meal.

The bonus news of the day was that my youngest sister is expecting her first child. She is due in June. I can’t believe she kept this under wraps for 4 months!!! Crazy! But now that we know, I am glad that we can share in her excitement. It will be so nice to have some new kids in the family! (Plus now she’ll “get” the whole parenting thing…and how it’s not always “go-by-the-book” easy…)

Now I shall innundate you with show you a few pictures from our day….

Cole is pointing out Santa to Tate. He was shrieking with glee while this was taken.

My boys, and several others, were glued to the window as Santa came in his helicopter (‘cuz the reindeer are resting right now…).

An out-take…

Jake gets his chance to tell Santa his Christmas wishes.

Mommy & Cole get a turn.

Aaaandddd, Mommy & Tate (Tate was trying to bolt here…I was using every muscle fiber I have to keep him on my lap.)

Coming to a Christmas card near you…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

