A family's story

Friday Frustrations

image

We’ve had “the crud” since we came back from Thanksgiving. Jake started it. Then Cole went down. Tate became “the snot-erator” yesterday, and my throat started tingling when I made dinner last night. Between the germs, Lysol fumes, and lack of sleep, I think frustrations are running pretty high at the House Of Hope right now….

Instance #1:
We found out that Angry Birds Seasons and Angry Bird Rio have new updates. I downloaded both last night. Angry Birds Seasons is “Wreck the Halls” (hmm, should have reserved that one, as it is my boys’ motto). It is an Advent Calendar. One new level opens every day.

Jake, our Angry Birds savant, played it on my phone and quickly garnered 3 stars. He’s a frickin’ genius with this game! However, when he tried to open Level 2, it said, “Available in 4 hours, 26 minutes.” He threw a pitch-fit. He, dare I say, growled at me!?! I told him to take a chill pill and play Rio…thankfully he did and that crisis was averted.

Instance #2(See picture):
We have an elf. Alfie keeps an eye on the boys…making sure that they behave and stay on the “nice” list. Alfie is a goofball. Last night, he chose to do his Cirque du Soleil act on our kitchen fan. This is the same fan that Tate stims with…he loves to watch the blades spin on all 3 speeds…”too fast”, “too bonky”, and “too slow”. Yeah.
Anyway, Tate was none-too-pleased to see Alfie dangling from his fan this morning. Oops. He admonished the elf, too.
“Alfie, we do not hang on the fan. Get off of there. Now! Shoo, shoo!”
Alfie, um, didn’t respond. Tate asked me to get him down. I told him that I couldn’t touch him. Tate whined, then grunted at me. He gave up, though, which made me not-so-regretful of Alfie’s placement.

Instance #3:
Cole screamed half-the-way to Jake’s school this morning because I wouldn’t let him have a fruit snack. Because I didn’t have a fruit snack in the car with me. He screamed, kicked, thrashed in his seat…in other words, he was being 2. I may have yelled at him. I may have reverted to acting like a toddler myself. All in front of the neighbor kid. Oops. Oh, well…I’m over it. Cole was over it by the time we left the carpool line at school.

So, um, yeah….frustrations are high. I think we all need the weekend, some down-time, some R&R….and for “the crud” to disappear. I hope it happens….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

