A family's story

Celebrate the good stuff

As much as I may express my frustration with Tate’s Autism..and the crumminess of the hard stuff, I would be remiss if I didn’t include some of the things that I kind of like about it, too…

His quirky words. The ones that you may not find in a Webster’s Dictionary, those are the best. To Tate, some things are “bonky” or they may be “squicky”. He is consistent in his usage of these two words…and they are both adjectives…a scratchy sweatshirt or cookie batter are “squicky”. Stimming sticks or the fan in the kitchen, those are “bonky”. I love it.

His blatant honesty. After hours upon hours trying to get to the crux of an issue from others, it is refreshing to hear the absolute truth once in a while. Even if I don’t like it. Honesty comes in handy when something is broken…and all 3 are sitting around looking a bit guilty.

His sense of pride about accomplishments. While he may not react typically (hence his slapping or pushing if you say, “good job, Taters!”), the beaming smile from ear to ear that lights up his entire face?! Priceless. Or his insistence, “lookit, Daddy, lookit my worksheet on the fridge”. He can’t wait to show off what he can do…and I love that about him.

His insistence on routine. I am a creature of habit. I love my routines. I “get” this with him…and I guess it helps me achieve acceptance of some of his behaviors because routine helps both of us thrive.

His immaturity. Yes, I said it. Sometimes I really don’t mind if he wants to watch Wonder Pets or Imagination Movers, or when he begs me to play CandyLand. Kids grow up so fast…it’s a breath of fresh air when I can immerse myself in some of the things that remind me of the boys’ younger years.

His progress. He has so much potential. So many talents…and with his therapy, medication, and maturity, we are seeing more of what he’s capable of doing. There is still plenty of the stuff he can’t do, but we see improvement. And that gives us hope…

I love that kid…with all of my heart. Nothing is easy for him in the “typical” world….but he keeps trying. Keeps persevering…and has become a bit of a hero to me.

Comments on: "Celebrate the good stuff" (1)

  1. blogginglily said:

    It’s hard to learn to celebrate the little things. Whether you feel like celebrating will jinx it, or the little thing is not “worthy” of celebrating. . . It is. Not just for you and your husband, but also for Tate to share. At least that’s what my wife and I try to do.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

