A family's story

Walk a Mile In My Shoes

Too often, I feel judged…I feel like my son is judged because he has Autism. His reactions to common occurrences are anything but “typical”. When routine is disturbed, or we have a visitor who is not part of a “normal” routine, or if we are in an unfamiliar place, Tate will react. He just does.

When these atypical reactions manifest,  many people stare. Eyebrows raise. A few whispers start. Children point. Adults clear their throats in that, “oh, my, this is awkward” way…and Hubz and I are left to try to pick up the pieces…literally and figuratively…alone.

So many times I wish someone would look at me knowingly…TRULY knowingly..or put a hand on my shoulder and tell me that it gets better…or easier…that it’s OK…but that almost never happens. Instead, I feel like a school kid…one who is shunned by peers because I did something weird. For those who judge me…US..I wish they could walk a mile in my shoes…to see how it feels.

Yesterday I created a team for the Walk! For Autism Speaks in our area. The walk isn’t until spring, so it gives us 6 months to prepare. I hope a few more people will join the team…Tate’s team.  We will walk…a little more than a mile, actually, to raise awareness, show support, and celebrate, yes celebrate, people like our Tate.

I am sure there will be a sense of community. A sense of belonging…and trust me, it will be overwhelming. I am looking forward to an event planned for children, for families, who have Autism. No judgment. No pretense. No staring because my kid is stimming with a pen…or flapping his hands because the excitement and anxiety are a little.too.much. Words of encouragement when my kid sits down because the wind is “too squicky”. Looks of “oh, yeah, I get it” when the echolalia takes over. 

And together, we can enjoy the hope that comes when so many people unite for a cause…and hope that because of the steps we take that day, some people who don’t know what we deal with every day see what it’s like to walk (a little more than ) a mile in my/our shoes….

Comments on: "Walk a Mile In My Shoes" (1)

  1. Brooke Graphia said:

    Hugs my friend! Since our Church/school has an austims school we have lots of kids who come to church and we treat them and their families with the love and respect they deserve we take their kids and help them transition into church so their parents can enjoy even if it is just service!! I pray someone helps you feel loved

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

