A family's story

It’s November 9. I’m hosting a bunco gathering  tomorrow night, and our “theme” is pot-luck. I thought it would be fun to get a few Thanksgiving-themed napkins/plates/table cloth for the evening.

I headed to “The Red Store”…which to the typical American is Target. Oh, how I love Target. Let me count thy ways….but I digress. Thanksgiving. Right…So, I went in looking for something, anything that had some sort of Autumnal/Thanksgiving/Turkey theme. I saw red….I saw green…I saw Santa, and Rudolph…but I’ll be darned if I didn’t see ANY type of Thanksgiving party ware.

I walked up and down aisles. I went to the seasonal section. Nope. There was one little side-row of meal-prep items by the groceries…but I don’t need a fat skimmer or turkey lifting hooks. And while I thought the little turkey-shaped gravy boat was kitschy and cute, it was NOT.WHAT.I.NEEDED.

I was about to give up, throwing my arms up in defeat, when I saw it…one tiny little end-cap, in the back of the greeting cards section. Could it be??? Maybe?? I saw burnt orange, and gold, and olive green…and, why, YES!!!! Autumnal- check! Thanksgiving- check! Turkey- check!! I was so excited…I impulsively grabbed a package of napkins that said, “Gobble, Gobble, Gobble”…and on the back, “Until you Wobble.” Ah, America…the land of excess….The napkins totally went in my cart!! I’m a sucker for cute phrases and adorable cartoon turkeys!

I am ecstatic that I found something…and relieved that I didn’t have to go store hopping with my sniffily, boogery 2-year-old. (Because everyone knows that a sniffily, boogery 2-year-old is a TERRIFIC shopping companion…((eye roll)))

But as I loaded my purchases onto the conveyor belt, I began to wonder, what happened to Thanksgiving? It’s wedged between the big consumer-driven “holidays” of Halloween and Christmas. I guess because people don’t deck the halls, walls, bushes, windows, roofs, etc., with crazy lights and inflatables, it doesn’t get its due. Poor Thanksgiving.

I, for one, am a big proponent of Thanksgiving. I think it’s great that our nation sets aside ONE DAY each year that is all about being thankful for what we have. We should be thankful EVERY day, but at least once a year it’s kind of thrust upon us…and we are given the day off, so that doesn’t hurt, either.

The moral of my long-winded story is this…take time, be thankful and for goodness sakes, (big, corporate merchandising gurus), DON’T FORGET THANKSGIVING!!!!

Gobble, Gobble, Gobble!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

