A family's story

Yes, I ripped that off from C & C Music Factory. So what? Today I am not feeling overly witty or chatty. And it’s, like, the first thing that popped into my head, soooo there.

Thing 1: Tate kept asking for an Ant/Spider/Bee game on our phones this weekend. I went to the Android market and found an Ant Smash game. He said it was the one he wanted (he played it with his therapist, supposedly.), so I downloaded it. Gross. The bugs came down the screen and you had to smoosh ’em. And they had bug guts. Ick! While he was intrigued by smooshing ants, the bees scared the bejeebers out of him. To the point he was screaming in panic and trying to climb up my shoulders, shrieking, “I’m scared, I’m scared, the bees are scaring me.” Um, yeah, that game was deleted. Yet, he kept asking for it. What the..???

Thing 2: Jake lost his second tooth last night. Hubz had to pull it. The tooth was wriggly and barely hanging in there, but Jake refused to pull it out. When I was a kid, the prospect of 50 cents was enticing enough to prompt pulling, yanking, and a little blood to get a tooth out. PLUS, being an over-achiever, I wanted to lose the most teeth in my class. Sometimes, I just don’t fully understand my oldest son’s chill-fly attitude. I like it, just don’t really get it.

Thing 3: Cole had another mom – and – tot sport class today. The teacher had the kids playing floor hockey. 2- year- olds and big sticks (padded, but none – the- less, sticks) don’t mix. Cole insisted on riding his stick like a horse…another kid would have been called for checking and high-sticking, as he waved that stick in the air, waved it like he just don’t care…and a third child was auditioning for the role of Bam-Bam…yikes! Eventually, the teacher gave the kids whiffle balls, because the pucks were difficult to hit. Cole, then, tried to use his stick like a bat to play baseball. The class ended with 4 boys chasing each other, a little girl spinning in circles, and one kid sitting on the floor crying because he didn’t want to give up his hockey stick. Oh, and Cole laying on his tummy watching everything like it was free entertainment.

Thing 4: Why is it that every.single.time I am on the phone, every mammal in my household needs me, asks me questions, or requires assistance with bodily functions?! Huh? Why is it?! It is truly a phenomenon…Just once, I would love to have a conversation in which I don’t have to change a tv channel, fix a snack, open the slider so the dog can go out, wipe someone’s butt, or pantomime my answer to their question. Egads!

What makes you go, hmmm?!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

