A family's story

Thankful Thursday

Does anyone else have a hard time believing that we are in NOVEMBER already?! I cannot get over the fact that in less than 60 days, we will be welcoming 2012. Time flies when  you’re having fun…or barely hanging on.

Anyway,since I use this blog as an outlet…many of my posts are my way of dealing with the things that bombard me daily. On Thursdays during November, though, I am going to take time out to be THANKFUL for the blessings in my life…and there are many.

I am most thankful for my family. They are always there..and they put up with me in the best of times and the worst of times. They know me, the real me, and they love me anyway. They encourage my strengths, support me in overcoming weaknesses, and are all-around pretty cool people. We’re by no means perfect, but I like that.

God blessed me with 2 sisters. While I may not always view it as a blessing (The year of the wedding in 2008 nearly did me in…), it is. My younger sisters are there for me. They are the only 2 people who know my history…who have been there through all of the ups and downs. I would do just about anything for them…they are so precious to me.

I am grateful for my husband. All I wanted when I was growing up was someone to love me and my nerdiness, someone who was kind, respectful, and loyal. Hubz is all that and a bag of chips…literally, the man loves his “chippies”. God knew what he was doing when we bumped into each other that cold January night…I feel at ease with Hubz…and there has never been any pretense or games. We just are..and I love that about us.

I am blessed to be called “Mom”. While there are moments when that moniker makes me want to run and hide because I know what unpleasantries await me, I am so lucky to be a mom. I have 3 of the most beautiful boys a person could want. My children are polite, quirky, thoughtful, energetic, fun, and high-maintenance, but I love a challenge…and God obliged. I am not bored. My days and heart are full…and I am so content (most of the time) to be a mommy.

In marrying Hubz, I became a part of his family. They have embraced me from day one, and we really have a strong relationship. I am so thankful that I don’t have in-law drama like so many other people I know.

My dad. I thank God EVERY.SINGLE.DAY that I still have my dad….see, we lost my mom to cancer last year, and well, we were sure Dad was going to follow immediately. But, Mom’s passing gave Dad some new perspective. He worked to repair the fraying relationships he had with me and my sisters. He started coming to family gatherings…and actually participated in celebrations. He attended Jake’s ball games. He went to the zoo with me and the boys. He is THERE. I may have lost my mom, but at least I regained my dad…and for that, I am so, so grateful.

What are you thankful for???

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

