A family's story

In the beginning…

Hubz and I met in college. We met so late in our senior year that I have a hard time deeming him my “college sweetheart”. Yet, he was…and despite our late meeting in college, the stars aligned and we were able to make this crazy thing called “love” work. We married. Nearly 3 years later we became the proud parents of a tiny little guy who we decided to call Jake. Jake was a quiet little guy…except when he was hungry. He was a cuddlebug…man, I loved just sitting on the couch and letting Jake and all of his baby yumminess snuggle up into my neck. I could hold him there for hours. Jake was very chill. He was easy to care for and went everywhere without a big fuss. He was slightly delayed with a few milestones, but nothing that was overly alarming.

A while later, 2 years and 7 months, to be exact, we had another bouncing bundle of blue. Tate was born via c-section and came into the world hollering! Tate was a handful from the beginning. A fussypants, hard to soothe, kind of always crabbing little guy. But, once he started to smile (delayed), all of that washed away. See, Tate has a million-watt smile that can brighten even the darkest of days. Tate was delayed with many milestones. We did the whole Early Intervention thing, followed by the Early Childhood thing, followed by an evaluation byt a neuropsychologist who confirmed that he had the big “A”…Autism. Hubz and I always kind of “knew” it….but it wasn’t until that April afternoon that we were handed an official diagnosis that it really sank in. Life with a child with Autism helps you realize that you must expecct the unexpected…at all times.

In between Tate’s birth and diagnosis, we were blessed with a THIRD bouncing baby boy. Cole is amazing. He was born several weeks early, buying himself a 3 week stay in the NICU. Since then he has made great strides, hitting all of his milestones appropriately. He is actually advanced for his age, except in speech, and considers himself to be 8, kind of like his oldest brother. After all, if Jake can do it, Cole certainly should have the option, too…right?!

My guys and I live in a modest home in the middle of the Midwest. I stay home and juggle all things kids…and Hubz goes out and works hard for his money…so hard, honey, honey. (And now I am showing my age with that 80’s song reference!)

Welcome to my world…it isn’t very pretty, but we make the most of it!

Comments on: "In the beginning…" (1)

  1. Lisa, I am glad I came across your blog. it looks like we started our blogs about the same time. I have a beautiful little girl that we adopted through foster care and she is the joy of our lives. She has been through years of therapy for various reasons and one of the things that hit me most was your comments about the milestones delay’s. Kailey was 3 months behind on all her delay’s. I look forward to getting to know your family more. Keep up the great work, I believe that God gives amazing amounts of strength to mothers of boys. I can tell already my belief is correct, you seem to be a strong woman. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Mama Is Only Human

my journey...

Zero Exit

by Sara Jagielski

Musings of an Aspie

one woman's thoughts about life on the spectrum

Finding Cooper's Voice

An honest and real look at nonverbal, severe autism.

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Carrie Cariello

Exploring the Colorful World of Autism

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

