A family's story

Tate is having a rough time sleeping. A lot of it centers around the return to school. A portion of it likely has to do with the fact that he has anxiety overload because his teacher is out for the time-being. She is slated for return on January 27th. That’s a long time. I hope that he sleeps soon.

I’m not sure how other kiddos do when they have their sleep issues, but lately, it seems that Tate takes a while to fall asleep, usually conking out around 9-9:30. He wakes up between 2 and 3. Often, he’ll call for me. Or start whining. I don’t know how many others are, but I am a LIGHT sleeper. Like, I could probably wake up if a feather fell onto my nightstand. So I wake up and because I’m also in this wacky sleep cycle with him, I let him crawl into bed with me and Hubz. THANKFULLY, lately, Tate just pulls the blanket over his head and falls right back asleep. But I don’t.

I also have the unfortunate occurrence of my alarm clock going off at 5:30 am. So I can go walk on the treadmill. I know, I’m crazy. However, if I don’t get up to walk then, it just doesn’t happen.

Naps aren’t really my thing, and I don’t have time to squeeze one in, either.  With errands, shopping, cleaning up the house, trying to write in my blog, etc, the naps are pushed to the wayside. After school is even worse. We have something every single afternoon. AND this is the week that Jake’s teachers have decided to ramp up the homework, so he has an hour of homework a night…which ends up being more than that when we factor in the whining, the meltdowns, the breaks, the deep breaths and the ranting…and that’s just me. ;)

Sooo, I am hopeful that Tate’s sleep gets more regular again. I miss my 7 consecutive hours of sleep. I really, really do!!!

Comments on: "Sleep Deprivation–take 1,002" (1)

  1. We’ve never really had any sleeping issues in my house. I’m so thankful for that because not getting enough sleep is huge and affects so much of our lives. I hope you get some sleep soon.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

findingcoopersvoice

Our families journey to find our son's voice. And everything in between.

Emma's Hope Book

Autism, Parenting and Being

Carrie Cariello

What Color is Monday

Gingerheaddad

A redheaded dad writing about parenting, autism and the odd piece of stuff

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheros - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Swim in the Adult Pool

Finding humor in an ADHD life without water wings

Who Am I? Why Do You Care?

I am a woman on a journey. Where I'll end up is yet to be discovered.

Organized Babble

Babbling in the most coherent way possible

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

Filtered Light

“Sometimes the dreams that come true are the dreams you never even knew you had.” ~ Alice Sebold

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

Run Luau Run

Run Committed

beyond the stoplight

sharing resources to create caring classroom communities for all children

The Domestic Goddess

Marj Hatzell Has Been Giving Stay-at-Home-Moms a Bad Name since 2005

"Write!" she says.

Tales from the car rider line and other stories

Autism & Oughtisms

Dealing with the endless "oughts" of parenting and autism.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

